Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Snap-on Diagnostics Ethos Plus
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2011, 03:29 PM
tech12 tech12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 67
tech12 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Programming Windstar Cluster

I recently tried to program a used cluster (IC) for a 1999 Windstar. I built the vehicle and chose PMI for programming. It performed a setup procedure and then asked for as built data. I went to the Ford website, punched in the VIN and got all the as built data. The problem is that module 61-01 is not listed in the as built lists. There is a hyperlink that says -click here if module data required is not available below. So I clicked on it but there is nothing there about the IC programming.

So I backed out and performed the PATS key learn. So now the truck starts but there is a Traction Off light on the dash. and a U1262 is set. I suspect this is because of the unfinished programming. Does anyone know how to resolve this? My diagnostics all point to a problem with SCP data which is on pin 2 of the ALDL.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2011, 03:37 PM
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 539
greasybob Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

You are not the first with this problem, maybe read this http://productforum.autorepairdata.c...ead.php?t=5165
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2011, 04:11 PM
USpMD's Avatar
USpMD USpMD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 171
USpMD Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech12 View Post
I recently tried to program a used cluster (IC) for a 1999 Windstar. I built the vehicle and chose PMI for programming. It performed a setup procedure and then asked for as built data. I went to the Ford website, punched in the VIN and got all the as built data. The problem is that module 61-01 is not listed in the as built lists. There is a hyperlink that says -click here if module data required is not available below. So I clicked on it but there is nothing there about the IC programming.

So I backed out and performed the PATS key learn. So now the truck starts but there is a Traction Off light on the dash. and a U1262 is set. I suspect this is because of the unfinished programming. Does anyone know how to resolve this? My diagnostics all point to a problem with SCP data which is on pin 2 of the ALDL.
Please supply complete Vin# and I will look into it for you
__________________
"I wanna help the helpless, but I could careless about the clueless". Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2011, 09:59 PM
tech12 tech12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 67
tech12 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Windstar Cluster

Greasybob - it sounds like you ran into exactly the same problem as I did - No as-built data for the IC (module 61-01) I did get through the PATS programming though. The VIN is- 2FMZA514XXBB83267. Any help with this is much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2011, 10:42 PM
USpMD's Avatar
USpMD USpMD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 171
USpMD Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech12 View Post
Greasybob - it sounds like you ran into exactly the same problem as I did - No as-built data for the IC (module 61-01) I did get through the PATS programming though. The VIN is- 2FMZA514XXBB83267. Any help with this is much appreciated
Heres the info you need
Blank PCM Data NOT Available in File PCM Module
PCM 1 FFFF FFFF FF0C
PCM 2 FFFF FFFF FF0D
PCM 3 FFFF FFFF FF0E
PCM 4 FFFF FF28 5089
PCM 5 5260 FFA0 FF65
PCM 6 FFFF FF13 587E
PCM 7 B0B1 B2FF FF28
PCM 8 FFFF FFFF FF13
PCM 9 FFFF FFFF FF14
BCE Modules TSB SSM Instructions
28-01 2000 0000 FF48

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

50-01 5900 0000 FFA9

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

52-01 C4D8 4000 FF2E

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

60-01 5D00 0000 FFBD

End of As Built information
FCXWS447
__________________
"I wanna help the helpless, but I could careless about the clueless". Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:53 AM
tech12 tech12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 67
tech12 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Windstar Cluster

But what as-built do I use for the cluster. Don't I need as built for module 61-01? Do I need to enter data for all modules. How do I procede with this? Sorry but I guess I have not had much experience with as built data entering.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:05 PM
tech12 tech12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 67
tech12 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Windstar Cluster

So....... I e-mailed FMP guy with my problem. Here is what he replied

Quote:
Eric,

This occurs when a Non-Message Center IC (Instrument Cluster) has been replaced with a Message Center IC. What happens is, the Message Center IC has an extra "Node" internal for the Message Center. IDS will display the address information for the 60-01, then it reads another node in the IC and asks for the 61-01 data.
First solution is to get the right IC for the vehicle from your local Ford dealership.
If you decide to install and program the Message Center IC in a Non-Message Center vehicle, the Message Center will display all dashes.
So the AB for the 61-01 would be FFFF-FFFF-FF5D

Thank you for contacting
Motorcraft Technical Resources
I will talk to my customer (repair shop) and find out how they want to proceed and then I will let you know how it goes. Programming is always an adventure!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2011, 08:08 AM
USpMD's Avatar
USpMD USpMD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 171
USpMD Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech12 View Post
But what as-built do I use for the cluster. Don't I need as built for module 61-01? Do I need to enter data for all modules. How do I procede with this? Sorry but I guess I have not had much experience with as built data entering.
the data for IC is , whem promted for 60-01 data, input 5D00 0000 FFBD the other data is for programming other modules, it is the complete list for that vehicle, and when replacing any module make sure is has the same part# as your original, there are times when a different part number will work but you may need to contact the dealer to see if that part will interchange, its possible in some rare cases, as a general rule if the part number dose not match it will not program correctly
__________________
"I wanna help the helpless, but I could careless about the clueless". Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2011, 07:11 PM
USpMD's Avatar
USpMD USpMD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 171
USpMD Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

did you fix this one yet..... waiting on your reply.......
__________________
"I wanna help the helpless, but I could careless about the clueless". Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2011, 05:30 PM
tech12 tech12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 67
tech12 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Windstar Cluster

Not yet - I am waiting for my customer to find out if he can get a used cluster that doesn't have an information center. I told him that I would program either one for him now that i know how to do it. I should hear at the beginning of the week. My cust says he specifically requested a cluster without an info center from the wrecker so he was a little miffed that we ran into this glitch because of a screwup by the wrecker. But..... that is the story of our lives isn't it. @#*T runs downhill and the techs at the bottom seem to always end up dealing with it!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.