Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Modis User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2017, 07:11 PM
65whaler 65whaler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ferndale, Wshington
Posts: 6
65whaler Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Two Modis swap out

I have a first generation Modis with the flat screen surface. I found another Modis with the raised screen surface but no mini USB under the left side handle. Not sure what generation it is. I bought it for it's newer software and Euro coverage. However is't screen is dim and hard to read in the upper left. Can I swap the scanner modules and cf cards to have the newer software and Euro coverage in my first Gen Modis? If not can I swap the screens? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2017, 08:54 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,656
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Unfortunately the software cards cannot be swapped between units. If it was me , I would assume the screens would not be interchangeable and try to repair the screen with a new IC and capacitor as per earlier posts
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2017, 08:38 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 156
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I also have one of those oddball first gen's but with the raised screen. I strongly suspect you can swap the screen and front of the case onto the other. I can imagine this is how some first gen's got 2nd gen screens. At the repair shop. Maybe.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2017, 02:00 PM
65whaler 65whaler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ferndale, Wshington
Posts: 6
65whaler Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Two Modis swap

I was able to greatly improve the display by turning down the contrast but, there are still annoying vertical white lines in the bottom half of the screen. I found an old expired post for a screen for sale on E bay. It said for 2006 and later models, so there must be a difference. Hate to us ebay to diagnose my scope fix but it's a clue. I will look into your suggestions and I thank you for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2018, 05:51 PM
65whaler 65whaler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ferndale, Wshington
Posts: 6
65whaler Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witsend View Post
Unfortunately the software cards cannot be swapped between units. If it was me , I would assume the screens would not be interchangeable and try to repair the screen with a new IC and capacitor as per earlier posts
You are right. I was able to swap the screens. (I guess they're both gen 1's. One has a flat surfaced front and the other has the newer raised border but no mini usb???) However the screens were drop in perfect, but
when I got them back together I mixed up the cf cards and I got error messages! I swapped the cards back and they both work!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.