Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > SolusUltra User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2018, 08:58 AM
autojoe autojoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 52
autojoe Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Tpms tire position relearn

Have 17.4 working on 2008 Chevy trailblazer will it do a tpms tire position relearn with scan tool. I know how to do manually with headlamp switch. Thanks Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2018, 09:58 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,761
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I think you can initiate the start of the learning sequence with the scan tool but you need a TPMS tool to activate the sensors one at a time in sequence or manually lower the tire pressures one at a time in sequence
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2018, 10:30 AM
autojoe autojoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 52
autojoe Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I just rotated tires and need the computer to know where each tire is. I have been doing it by using the light switch and decreasing air until the horn chirps. I don't know why I do it because I don't have tire pressures on the dlc so if my tpms light comes on due to low tire pressure I don't know which tire and have to check all tire pressures unless there is one obvious tire that is ridiculously low unless I grab my scan tool. Also if a tire sensor goes bad won't know which one is bad due to not knowing the location. Thanks for the reply. I don't have a tpms tool. I read that wells manufacturing has one lots of mechanics use. Thanks again. Joe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2018, 11:39 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,761
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
I just rotated tires and need the computer to know where each tire is. I have been doing it by using the light switch and decreasing air until the horn chirps. I don't know why I do it because I don't have tire pressures on the dlc so if my tpms light comes on due to low tire pressure I don't know which tire and have to check all tire pressures unless there is one obvious tire that is ridiculously low unless I grab my scan tool. Also if a tire sensor goes bad won't know which one is bad due to not knowing the location. Thanks for the reply. I don't have a tpms tool. I read that wells manufacturing has one lots of mechanics use. Thanks again. Joe
Today 10:58 AM
Unless you do a lot of TPMS and tire work where you need to be able to program Blank TPMS sensors of multiple brands and not have to pull a scan tool besides to register the new tire positions to other makes of cars ,(like a BarTec or Snap On TPMS3 can) then one of these works fine for your once a week TPMS light diag along with using a capable scan tool. It can even program (only the same brand as the tool) MX programmable TPMS Chinese TPMS sensors if you want to use them. I have the older TS401 but it can not read or program other brand "non programmed TPMS sensors" like Schrader Brand programmable sensors.

Last edited by Steve6911; 10-11-2018 at 04:50 AM.. Reason: Removed link to other brand tool
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2018, 01:28 PM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 356
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I'm a small shop, but after a few customers started to ask about the tire pressure light, I decided to buy a snap-on TPMS tool. They work great. Most customers wish that we did everything, but some tools cost way too much and we would probably use it once or twice a month. But the TPMS tool is used at least 4 times a week. So we got our money back already plus some. For me, it was worth it. Very easy to do on america cars. Some asian or euro cars its a bit more difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2018, 10:28 AM
bestdamgarage bestdamgarage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: mich
Posts: 80
bestdamgarage Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

A-teq vt 36 is only like 200.0 bucks in conjunction with my verus aint had one i couldnt do yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2018, 12:21 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,761
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
A-teq vt 36 is only like 200.0 bucks in conjunction with my verus aint had one i couldnt do yet.
Even my budget Autel TS401 hasn't missed with reading any programmed TPMS sensors I tried it on yet, and by using a capable scan tool I've registered the new tire positions , however programming blank sensors it has no ability to program and write IDs to common blank programmable Schrader Brand or other common brand TPMS sensors except the Autel Brand MX sensors .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2018, 06:39 AM
tech25's Avatar
tech25 tech25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: florida
Posts: 85
tech25 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I also have the autel ts401 with v 5.42.

I believe this tool is pretty good, and of course having a good understanding of tire pressure systems. for instance when a car pings a sensor, or only has antennas, ect... knowledge is the big key.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.