" The diagnostic tester was unable to communicate with the module ".

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ShawnD
    • Feb 2013

" The diagnostic tester was unable to communicate with the module ".

I am fairly new to the ptp and live in a very rural area. With 6 shops in just a couple miles and me haveing the only reflash ability its been a good investment. Two weeks ago another shop had replaced the pcm on a 2010 F-150 with new one. I followed FMP instructions on flash and all seemed well, until i tried to start. Theft light flashing now. I tried to go into pats to relearn keys and i get " The diagnostic tester was unable to communicate with the module ". Reinstall old pcm and vehicle runs but still received message if i try to access PATS. Shop owner bought new IC called me today to try again. Same error code now vehicle does not run at all. Old pcm & IC does not matter. I did a Pats relearn on an 06 with no problems just a week prior. Any ideas would be great.
  • ToltecasChavez
    • Apr 2011

I know this is silly, but have you restarted the Laptop? This happened to me once and I restarted my PC and it communicated with it again. Also, try to unplug PCM and leave it out for 30 minutes. I had this happened to me once as well. When ur Plugged in witht PTP and the car, use the ToolBox program and test to see if the PTP is communicating with the PCM. Also, try to see what codes the car is giving you with a scanner if available. Can you communicate with any module? PCM, ABS, etc? Any details when that might seem insignificant when you were flashing would be good to know. Worst case, something is wrong with the new PCM since you swapped the old one and the car starts. Check the system for any DTC's about anti-theft. Regards, Chavez.

Comment

• ShawnD
      • Feb 2013