Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > ZEUS User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2019, 07:45 AM
eddie8 eddie8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Goose Creek South Carolina
Posts: 255
eddie8 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Proof that Intellegent diagnostics does work!

I had a 2015 Lincoln MKZ that was setting a code. This code was P008A*00 | Low Pressure Fuel System Pressure * Too Low * Pending DTC. Look at the actual and desired data pids. see the difference? I went and performed my basic diagnostics on the low side fuel pump and the pump tested fine. The failure on this vehicle was the fuel psi sensor.
When doing any type of diagnostic always pay close attention to your data pids especially your actual vs desired. The intellegent diagnostic section grouped the data pids together for faster and less time consuming/wasting diagnosis. I hope this helps some of you to speed up and shirten your diagnostic time. I had my conclusion in under 20 minutes thanks to the Intellegent Diagnostic section of my Zeus.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2015 Lincoln MKS.jpg (170.8 KB, 95 views)
__________________
Edwin Hazzard
Southeast Mobile Tech
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2019, 09:22 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,941
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

For a quick Go, No Go KOEO check of sensor, If the low pressure side doesn't have a test port, with key on engine off, if you are able to safely vent all the fuel line supply pressure,and monitor the low side fuel pressure sensor pid, it probably should read 0 psi.(or at least no more or less than plus or minus 10psi either way) Probably quicker than cobbling adapters together to hook up a fuel pressure gauge.

Last edited by Witsend; 06-10-2019 at 06:08 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2019, 05:42 AM
tech25's Avatar
tech25 tech25 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: florida
Posts: 140
tech25 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

how do you know its the fuel pressure sensor?? did you hook up a mechanical gauge and verify the pressure??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2019, 07:59 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 235
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I think when I start to need a scanner to wave red flags at me pointing out that some data is showing other than what is desired on the same data page and also that I need to be looking at fuel pressure data because of a fuel pressure code that will be the day I probably need to look into applying for that Wal-Mart greeter job instead of working on cars.
It's like "Captain Obvious Diagnostics". Every time I press that button on something weird and squirrely there's no help there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2019, 02:17 PM
Crusty Crusty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great White North
Posts: 2,413
Crusty You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyR View Post
I think when I start to need a scanner to wave red flags at me pointing out that some data is showing other than what is desired on the same data page and also that I need to be looking at fuel pressure data because of a fuel pressure code that will be the day I probably need to look into applying for that Wal-Mart greeter job instead of working on cars.
It's like "Captain Obvious Diagnostics". Every time I press that button on something weird and squirrely there's no help there.
Couldn't agree more.
Desired pid =X
Actual pid = Y
Pretty obvious, and those kind of "desired" vs "actual" have been in lots of vehicles data lists for many years.
Not exactly 'intelligent diagnostics" where the computer software figured out something beyond what any 1st year apprentice should be able to see.
Any time I look into any of the "help" screens, it's never anything outstanding that common sense & logic couldn't recognize.
Computers are as dumb as a post, zeros & ones. The kind of terminology used such as "intelligent" this or that is just marketing to the under 40 crowd who rely on the technology far too much.
Parts store "intelligent diagnostics" says to sell an oxygen sensor for an oxygen sensor code....every time....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2019, 04:54 PM
gentz gentz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Monterey California
Posts: 189
gentz Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Wow, great proof. Not sure it really helps..
__________________
Diagnostic Specialist, diagnostic tool specialist. You name It I have it or have used it! MasterTech since 1998.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:17 PM
eddie8 eddie8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Goose Creek South Carolina
Posts: 255
eddie8 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tech25 View Post
how do you know its the fuel pressure sensor?? did you hook up a mechanical gauge and verify the pressure??
Yes i did.the intelligent diagnostics pointed me in the right direction
__________________
Edwin Hazzard
Southeast Mobile Tech
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:19 PM
eddie8 eddie8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Goose Creek South Carolina
Posts: 255
eddie8 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusty View Post
Couldn't agree more.
Desired pid =X
Actual pid = Y
Pretty obvious, and those kind of "desired" vs "actual" have been in lots of vehicles data lists for many years.
Not exactly 'intelligent diagnostics" where the computer software figured out something beyond what any 1st year apprentice should be able to see.
Any time I look into any of the "help" screens, it's never anything outstanding that common sense & logic couldn't recognize.
Computers are as dumb as a post, zeros & ones. The kind of terminology used such as "intelligent" this or that is just marketing to the under 40 crowd who rely on the technology far too much.
Parts store "intelligent diagnostics" says to sell an oxygen sensor for an oxygen sensor code....every time....
The point is it does the thinking for you.
__________________
Edwin Hazzard
Southeast Mobile Tech
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:21 PM
eddie8 eddie8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Goose Creek South Carolina
Posts: 255
eddie8 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyR View Post
I think when I start to need a scanner to wave red flags at me pointing out that some data is showing other than what is desired on the same data page and also that I need to be looking at fuel pressure data because of a fuel pressure code that will be the day I probably need to look into applying for that Wal-Mart greeter job instead of working on cars.
It's like "Captain Obvious Diagnostics". Every time I press that button on something weird and squirrely there's no help there.
If you think you can make a better income at Walmart...knock your self out 😉
__________________
Edwin Hazzard
Southeast Mobile Tech
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:23 PM
eddie8 eddie8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Goose Creek South Carolina
Posts: 255
eddie8 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gentz View Post
Wow, great proof. Not sure it really helps..
It might for some techs...especially the ones who aren't familiar with the system there working on.
__________________
Edwin Hazzard
Southeast Mobile Tech
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.