Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 70cuda383
    • Oct 2012

MT2500 help?

Ok, I'm just a hobbyist, working on a 1998 model Dakota. I have an MT2500 with the Domestic primary cartridge through 01, ABS cartridge through '99 and the Dodge key.

The scanner works great! but...I can't get it to access the ABS stuff. my ABS light flashes at me and I need to figure out what the code is. when I power it up the scanner body recognizes/sees the ABS cartridge, but then after going through the "start-up" options, it only gives me an option for Engine, Body, or Transmission, and nowhere in any of those 3 options do I see a way to access the ABS computer.

(those same 3 options are available even if the ABS cartridge is not installed)

can someone tell me what I need to do to access the ABS computer with the MT2500 and an ABS cartridge? is it hidden somewhere? or is something not working?
  • Joe Rappa
    Snap-on DSD
    • Aug 2007

The ABS cartridge of for the Troubleshooter only. It doesn't affect communication with any modules, just Trouble Code lookups, etc.

The reason that ABS doesn't appear is because it hadn't been developed yet. If you want to access ABS you will need a newer Primary Cartridge. Just be careful what you buy. There are a bunch of EBay sellers out there with some deceptive ads on when you get when you buy newer cartridges. The new coverage is OBDII only.

Joe
    "You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
    Henry Ford

Comment

• 70cuda383
      • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Joe Rappa
      The ABS cartridge of for the Troubleshooter only. It doesn't affect communication with any modules, just Trouble Code lookups, etc.