Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Solus/SOLUS PRO User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2018, 08:48 PM
erldrums erldrums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: vancouver bc
Posts: 3
erldrums Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default solus wont talk to 06 sprinter abs

hey Guy's ,
brand new on here today!
I have a slous pro, 14.4, dl16 & correct S keys, S4 S17 S20
trying to check wheel speeds on a 2006 dodge sprinter 2500, with the s-20 key.
As soon as it com's, traction , ESP, ABS, Brake! lights come on and it locks the shifter in park (no lights or codes showing before it actually connects, lights go out as soon as I stop communication)
So, went and borrowed buds solus pro, different S20 key, same thing..
any ides?
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2018, 11:05 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,756
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Well I would start the communication with the Van in neutral , so if you are able to view wheel speed pids , you are able to get the van into gear and and drive it instead of being stuck not being able to get it out of park.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2018, 12:06 AM
erldrums erldrums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: vancouver bc
Posts: 3
erldrums Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

thx for the reply bud,
I can override the lockout by pushing a pen into the shifter unit..then moving into gear but, I would assume the van is locking out the selector for a reason?..don't want to screw anything up !
I should also mention, when the solus does communicate , the pid's are all reading 2km, while stationary..dont know if thats relevant?
Scanner has been great with engine problems, found crapped out egr, maf senser, few other little bits and bobs..running really nice now,but we have a feeling the the ABS is"nt working right..surging on braking, (below 15km)..
Van is high km, 426,000, wondering if the Bosch unit has crapped out internally?
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2018, 06:25 AM
tech25's Avatar
tech25 tech25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: florida
Posts: 85
tech25 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Hello and welcome to the forums..

First i would check 3 things,

check power and ground and communication lines at the abs unit
make sure all grounds and power ( kl30 ) and key on ( kl15 ) are correct.

second.

make sure all tire sizes are correct on all 4 wheels, maybe different tire sizes on rears for example will show different wheel speeds.

third, check the sensors at the abs connector , refer to the picture for a explanation.

also, these dont look like digital hall effect sensors so you should after measuring the resistance switch to AC voltage and
give the tire a spin with your hand and see if it it generates a small amount of AC voltage
Attached Images
File Type: jpg abs sensors.jpg (179.8 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by tech25; 01-05-2018 at 06:43 AM.. Reason: added wiring
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2018, 07:33 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,756
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Hey , I Had one of them Turds several years ago , I posted about.Good Luck

http://productforum.autorepairdata.c...t=sprinter+ABS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:39 AM
erldrums erldrums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: vancouver bc
Posts: 3
erldrums Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

thx tech25!..will try that ...will post results
Witsend, I read that post about the tone ring fix, thats what got me to sign up for the forum, seems like there are some savvy blokes on here!! as we say in the old country!
cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.