Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Solus/SOLUS PRO User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2018, 12:59 PM
inkncraig inkncraig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Placentia
Posts: 6
inkncraig Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Solus error message 404 no com

Hey everybody I have a Solus thatís not communicating. Can anyone give me any tips to help narrow down what component may have failed. CF card Personality key or the cord cable. This is my personal scanner and Iím trying to revive it. I bought it used

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2018, 05:05 PM
phill57 phill57 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 457
phill57 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default No communication

Need more information.

Is it a problem on just one vehicle or all, will it work in generic OBD2 mode. Will it talk to any modules. Depending on your software release if I remember correctly at some points GM vehicles did not require a personality key. Have you tried a different cable?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:12 PM
inkncraig inkncraig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Placentia
Posts: 6
inkncraig Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default No communication

It will not talk to the individual car (make) or generic OBDII. The specific make gives an error code. Then the obd connection says ďno commĒ. I have tried Chevy and Toyota. I have ordered a cable. What other makes take the personality keys. The k20 is the most used one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:30 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,930
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Look at the Pins of the OBD connector and see if pin is damaged bent or missing. You could remove the cable and test each terminal for continuity from one end to the other end, but no continuity ( short)between any terminals on the same ends.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2018, 01:54 PM
inkncraig inkncraig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Placentia
Posts: 6
inkncraig Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Well I did some find some odd things with the key adapter. I jumped the key pins straight across and ohmed through the adapter. The pins didnít line up with respect to the other side. I.E. pins 7 on the DLC side came out in pin 15 on the vga cable. Well I have a cable coming for it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2018, 02:10 PM
kirkbarrow.garage kirkbarrow.garage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 148
kirkbarrow.garage Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inkncraig View Post
Well I did some find some odd things with the key adapter. I jumped the key pins straight across and ohmed through the adapter. The pins didn’t line up with respect to the other side. I.E. pins 7 on the DLC side came out in pin 15 on the vga cable. Well I have a cable coming for it


To be quite honest, that to me is perfectly expected ( as an ex Radio, TV, Video, Audio & Satellite technician anyway, who still repairs cell phones, tablets, laptops & tower pc's ) as it matters not to which pin connects to which at the other end, but it DOES matter there is a connection on the two ends of the cable though.


Otherwise, nil results
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2018, 07:55 AM
bsdkllr bsdkllr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Peabody
Posts: 9
bsdkllr Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

What im noticing with the Solus is that there is a chip inside that's burning out.

looks like a NEC D78C10AGF looks like it has some Analog to Digital conversion.

i may try and replace it and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2018, 10:17 AM
inkncraig inkncraig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Placentia
Posts: 6
inkncraig Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Awesome info !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsdkllr View Post
What im noticing with the Solus is that there is a chip inside that's burning out.

looks like a NEC D78C10AGF looks like it has some Analog to Digital conversion.

i may try and replace it and see what happens.
I'm taking it apart after I type this
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2018, 03:32 PM
bsdkllr bsdkllr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Peabody
Posts: 9
bsdkllr Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

the 2 i have on the lower right have a small burn. one is worse than the other. i did order replacement chips but they will take awhile to come. hopefully they will sort it out.

im not sure what caused it to burn out.

did yours just stop working while you were using it? or was it working and then the next car it was not?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2018, 05:01 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,930
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

If Snappy no longer supports a particular model scanner anymore with updates and repairs , the least they could do for a nominal fee like a hundred dollars plus surrendering your broken scanner to them , would be to issue you a fresh unlocked card of the same version software you had in the broken scanner to use in another used Snap On scanner of your choice (that has older software than the broken one), but might still be supported with repairs and updates.
For example a Solus Pro with 16.2 craps out, and you can't get it fixed , you buy a Solus Ultra off Flea Bay with 13.2 , and say I'll surrender my broken scanner head and pay SnapOn a hundred dollars , they'll give you a fresh 16.2 update (what you had on your broken Solus Pro) to install in the Solus Ultra with an older update to install the newer software version you had in the broken scanner.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.