Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Solus/SOLUS PRO User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2019, 01:38 PM
saulc1981 saulc1981 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 6
saulc1981 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Angry Solus edge need to register error

My solus edge on 19.2.1 every time I try now to use the scanner or obd/eobd it says I need to register my software to use it. Now this is a replacement micro sd card that I received from Snap-On probably a month ago. And what weird is that it was working perfectly fine and then one moment to the next bam it gives me this error. Called snappy and guy tryís telling me that I have to send it in to get battery checked and some other load of b.s. Which I know its b.s. Cause when I got this replacement micro sd card the first rep tried to give me the same b.s. Then I called back talked to another rep and he sent me the new sd card no problem. Anyone know what the issue is or a number I can call where they arenít acting like a freaking car dealership. 4000 dollar machine which doesnít even outperform the other half that price and to still b.s. Me around with that b.s. Gotta be kidding me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2019, 04:46 AM
Steve6911's Avatar
Steve6911 Steve6911 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wantagh, New York
Posts: 1,869
Steve6911 You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

Check the time and date on your tool. The shop Solus here had the internal battery get knocked out of place ( of course no one here dropped it ) and the tool would come up with a similar error. Because there was no "keep alive" memory the time and date were way off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2019, 04:04 PM
Ramigojag Ramigojag is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Ramigojag Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

If you have a small asterix (*) next to the time in the top right corner, either your CMOS battery has come loose or died.

This can cause this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2019, 05:58 AM
BMW JEDI's Avatar
BMW JEDI BMW JEDI is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 400
BMW JEDI Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramigojag View Post
If you have a small asterix (*) next to the time in the top right corner, either your CMOS battery has come loose or died.

This can cause this problem.
I have not opened one up to have a peek yet, but this sounds like the CMOS battery is not soldered in and can be easily replaced by a suitably competent user?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2020, 03:35 PM
Ramigojag Ramigojag is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Ramigojag Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

They're not soldered in on the Solus edge, but I can't remember if their are any warranty stickers so if your's is still in warranty be careful opening it up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2020, 02:29 PM
saulc1981 saulc1981 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 6
saulc1981 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

There is a warranty sticker underneath the battery and there is also a screw there that holds the back cover. So if u remove the sticker screwed with warranty but what does there warranty really cover i called they sent me a new sd card and it had worked then it starting giving an error that i needed to register my software and then after that i called snappy rep and they directed to that site where they access your computer and the files and then after that i started getting this update failed and clock not set. unless i access ultilities. really annoying. P.S. i went ahead and replaced the cmos battery and issue persist. snappy wanted to charge for a diag fee then battery and a cable the guy said from battery to mb. Thats b.s the cable is not a cable that needs replacement and the main battery is fine. but ill buy aftermarket than pay snappy there over priced fees.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.