Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Vantage PRO User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2017, 07:48 AM
Colin 7890 Colin 7890 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bedford
Posts: 2
Colin 7890 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Vantage pro car power supply

Hi there just got a vantage pro but battery life is short and needs new one . But can I use the optional snap on fag lighter/battery cable while testing as will have more than one ground . Could this causes a problem with interface or risk damaging the unit. Thank Colin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2017, 08:37 AM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,766
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

It will work just fine. The plug will connect to the top of the scope, and it will tolerate car battery voltage without trouble.
Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2017, 11:51 AM
Colin 7890 Colin 7890 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bedford
Posts: 2
Colin 7890 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Thanks for that it works plugged in a boost pack but think will just run it like this till get a new battery. Rather than of the battery of car I'm working on . As then there is no chance of interface. Thanks Colin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2017, 03:14 PM
phill57 phill57 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 426
phill57 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default Ground Looping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin 7890 View Post
Thanks for that it works plugged in a boost pack but think will just run it like this till get a new battery. Rather than of the battery of car I'm working on . As then there is no chance of interface. Thanks Colin
Just thought I'd step in here and mention if you connect to the vehicle battery with a Vantage Pro you have to consider that the scope ground is tied internally to the vehicle ground now. This will affect ohm meter testing as everything will now show continuity to ground. I learned this the hard way, spent over an hour tearing apart a harness looking for a short to ground which went away when i disconnected from the vehicle battery. This can also affect sensor tests using the voltmeter or lab scope. I'd recommend a battery pack or inverter/adapter combination. Hoe this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2017, 11:01 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 156
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

REALLY good to know, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2018, 05:39 PM
JamesO JamesO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 23
JamesO Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

As mentioned you really do not want to power scopes or Voltmeters off the vehicle unless you happen to have a specially designed and expensive DC isolated power adapter.

The easiest thing to do is get a rechargeable 12 Volt battery pack like this one and Velcro it to the back of the meter.

https://www.amazon.com/Talentcell-Re...70_&dpSrc=srch

I did something like this to a well know scan tool that did not have an internal battery and decided it was a PITA to have to power the unit from the car and have to power the unit down when removed from the car.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.