Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2018, 08:58 PM
cardoctor6455 cardoctor6455 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CHICAGO IL
Posts: 29
cardoctor6455 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Mac tools mdt j2534 box.

Hello has anyone heard of or performed any programming with the Mac Tools MDT 10 j2534 box ? Iím just asking because I Just found out they now have a j2534 tool that is also used for vehicle diagnostics.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2018, 07:59 AM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 154
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

An android based tablet doesn't work for most OEMs programming(no North American brands),so you would also need a properly set up laptop to work with the j2534 interface.
Most Mac scan tools have been rebranded OTC/Bosch.I don't have any first hand experience with that particular model.Just some things to be aware of.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2018, 08:22 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 356
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Shouldn't be that difficult. From what I can tell, they probably use some form of windows which allows you to program through the toll by purchasing an OEM subscription and then flashing with the tool. If anything, you can call MAC if you run into problems. The OEM also has a hotline that you can ask questions if you run into a problem. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2018, 09:47 AM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 154
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToltecasChavez View Post
Shouldn't be that difficult. From what I can tell, they probably use some form of windows which allows you to program through the toll by purchasing an OEM subscription and then flashing with the tool. If anything, you can call MAC if you run into problems. The OEM also has a hotline that you can ask questions if you run into a problem. Good Luck!
Nope,it states in the description that you need a laptop for programming.How would one run 7 Pro or 10 Pro on a android tablet? Snapon uses windows embedded to make their tablets more usefull.

"•VCI is J-2534 compliant—can be used with separate PC and OEM software for ECU reflashing"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2018, 01:06 PM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 356
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I stand Corrected, Glide is Correct. You def need a laptop to do programming.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2018, 02:23 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,721
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

You best be careful if you don't plan to keep a current subscription. Mac uses re-badged OTC stuff , and now Bosch bought OTC. I Thought the Higher end Bosch scantools require keeping a current subscription or the software times out and can't be used or just function in a limited generic mode.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2018, 10:07 PM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 171
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Now THAT'S a nasty way to behave. Bad enough that SnapOn arbitrarily decides their scanners are at their "end of life" and won't update them past a certain point. Like how now your Vantage Pro is stuck on whatever update you stopped at in April even though the last update was rolled out last fall. (Mine is like 11.4 and will be 'til it dies-I didn't know about 17.4 being done away with at the arrival of 18.2 until too late). But at least you can use them fully in whatever capacity they have except for that Suretrack stuff that isn't actually useful anyway. I still have a first gen Modis that's kind of clunky and the software is on like 7.2 but I don't care because I use it as a scope and such and hardly ever as a scanner anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:11 AM
SnapOnKid's Avatar
SnapOnKid SnapOnKid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 813
SnapOnKid Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witsend View Post
You best be careful if you don't plan to keep a current subscription. Mac uses re-badged OTC stuff , and now Bosch bought OTC. I Thought the Higher end Bosch scantools require keeping a current subscription or the software times out and can't be used or just function in a limited generic mode.
The Bosch M-VCI has been discontinued. There are no new updates for the software.

It was the licensing system they used when they switch the software toward the end of its life that was a pain in the back side. If you swaped laptops or tools you had to have the license re-issued. You had to call Bosh diagnostics and have them cancel the old one and then issue the new license.

Originally I had a main laptop and a backup laptop with the software on it. I then switched it to my Programing Laptop because they wanted windows 7 and when I did that with one of the software updates, It wouldnt complete the update and it created a licensing issue... Needless to say when I finally got a call back and was able to connect the laptop to the internet, he had to push the update that wouldn't take and issue a new license on that laptop.

In other words when your laptop breaks, you can't use the tool until you call them and have a new license issued to the new laptop. There only open monday through Friday 8AM-5PM. I never received a call back before 10AM and if you called say around 3PM, I didn't get a call till the next day if I was lucky. Other wise I had to call back in.

I tried to purchase the wireless dongle they were using and they wouldnt sell it to me nor did they know the specific model that came in the kit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2018, 06:59 AM
cardoctor6455 cardoctor6455 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CHICAGO IL
Posts: 29
cardoctor6455 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I know the actual scan tool wonít do programming. My question was about the interface thatís supposed to be j2534 compliant. Iíve done programming before with my VCM II so Iím aware about the laptop requirements.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2018, 09:16 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 356
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Since you clearly didn't specify anything in your question, how are we suppose to know what you meant? Mind reading on the internet doesn't exist yet. Maybe one day, CLEARLY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.