Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Verus User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2018, 01:54 AM
Mopar Muscle Mopar Muscle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Mopar Muscle Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Chrysler Transmission CVI's

I'm looking to buy a used Verus or Verus Pro D10, but want to confirm that they can read Chrysler transmission CVI values and transmission perform quick learns. I used a friend's Solus Ultra, but after he updated it to 17.4, the CVI's are not there.

Also, for those that can see the CVI values, what version of software does your Verus/Verus Pro D10 have?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2018, 07:56 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 151
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I read CVI's all the time with a Verus Edge with 17.4, a Solus Edge with 17.4, and a Zeus with 18.2.

You have to watch for that some Mopar's just don't have CVI's available to be read, no matter what scanner you have. I've seen that on vehicles I think ought to but just don't.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2018, 08:58 PM
Mopar Muscle Mopar Muscle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Mopar Muscle Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyR View Post
I read CVI's all the time with a Verus Edge with 17.4, a Solus Edge with 17.4, and a Zeus with 18.2.

You have to watch for that some Mopar's just don't have CVI's available to be read, no matter what scanner you have. I've seen that on vehicles I think ought to but just don't.
Weird. I've had a Solus Ultra 17.4 on my '07.5 Dodge 3500 with 68rfe and couldn't find the CVI's anywhere. They sure weren't where the commanded vs actual line pressures are. I know the truck has CVI's because I have to do quick learns with new TCM flashes.

Is there a super secret place in the Solus it would be?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2018, 07:00 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 151
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Snap On in its wisdom refuses to let you look at that stuff without being connected to a vehicle. So I'd have to find a similar Dodge to actually hook up to and then look. But off the top of my head the CVI's are in "Transmission" then "Data" every time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2018, 11:09 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 151
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

OK, had 2012 swing by. The CVI's for that one are randomly dispersed throughout the rest of the "Data" in the transmission section. The CVI's aren't gathered up in one convenient spot. (Like we prefer and the older models do.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Today, 03:50 AM
Mopar Muscle Mopar Muscle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Mopar Muscle Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Appreciate the info. That's where I was looking on the 17.4 Solus Ultra on my personal '07.5 Ram 3500 with 68RFE, but none were there to display. It wouldn't let me do a quick learn either. I resorted back to my Auto Enginuity scanner and it did the quick learn no problem. Not sure if Snap On doesn't display those because they might have '07 models Ram 2500/3500 models listed as non-CVI units. Dodge had a mid-year transmission conversion to the 68RFE that uses CVI's on those trucks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Today, 06:07 AM
Witsend Witsend is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,624
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Yeah Achronym "CVI" means Clutch Volume Index in case some of you might be wondering if it's a measurement to see how far along the ole gal is to delivering hard parts in the pan or something.

Last edited by Witsend; Today at 08:38 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.