Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • stioc
    • May 2017

My first relative comp test using just the test leads

I'm not a pro, just a huge car enthusiast and a tinkerer. I've been wrenching on my own cars since my very first car 20 years but just getting into the lab scopes and diagnostics. Recently purchased a Modis and just captured my first 'practical' waveform on a 2001 Nissan Pathfinder.

Channel one is using just the test leads at the battery (filter on, AC coupling on, inverted waveform, 1V scale) and channel two is back probing the control wire on cyl 1 COP using a 2v scale. Pretty neat because until recently I thought I had to have a high amp clamp to do this.

Thanks for sharing here because little by little I'm learning from your guys' experience- as well as from youtube.
  • b-kenny2
    • Nov 2007

Great job,Stoic I'll give that a try, then I'll pull a spark plug and do it again just to see how it compares to an amp clamp pattern. Thanks for sharing.

Comment

• kirkbarrow.garage
      • Jan 2015

Originally posted by b-kenny2
      Great job,Stoic I'll give that a try, then I'll pull a spark plug and do it again just to see how it compares to an amp clamp pattern. Thanks for sharing.
      Hi b-kenny2, DO NOT under any circumstances connect to the lead that goes to a spark plug.
      You will discover what 30,000 volts can do if you are careful, and will not survive if you are not.
      The only way to monitor the voltage is by using one of the adaptors that Snap On may possibly provide for you to buy.

Comment

• stioc
        • May 2017

@ b-kenny2, thanks. I'd love to hear what you find if you get a chance to post it.