Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Vantage PRO User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2017, 05:18 PM
Syhung Syhung is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Syhung Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default MT2400 Screen Not Working

Hello,

I am at a lost. I have a Snap On MT2400 Vantage that is rarely used, and recently I tried to turn it on and the screen wouldn't turn on at all. Thus, I took the thing apart to look inside and checked all the connections, everything looks good and it even has power going through it as well. Had a friend looked at it as well and he says everything is how it should be operating normally, yet the screen still doesn't turn on. Could it be a bad memory card? Any ideas fellow snap on owners? Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

Last edited by Syhung; 09-05-2017 at 05:47 PM.. Reason: Thinking.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2017, 12:02 PM
ASE_LEO ASE_LEO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1
ASE_LEO Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Vantage Screen Problems

This is a common problem...which, unfortunately, is not easily solved. If memory serves my right, the screen has a bunch of contacts around the periphery. These correspond to a row or column of pixels on the screen. What seemed to have been the problem on mine was that the paper Snap-On used to insure a firm connection between the screen contacts and the mount must have become compressed with time. I could get the screen to come on by squeezing the mounting frame around the screen, but it was very unreliable.

A friend, who is a computer/radio guru, worked on it several times. He got it to work "acceptably", but it still had several dead rows. He never got it to work 100%. Then I heard about a guy (from the internet) who was "supposedly" repairing these things. I sent it to him...and never saw it again. Seems parts for the MT2400 are a hot commodity and they have an internet market much like stripped car parts.

My advice: move on. You can find plenty of Pro's on eBay and Craigslist. Yes, they are no longer updated buy Snap On, but they are very useful and serviceable. Personally, I don't think I've used the model-specific features of mine often enough to justify the $450 update fees. But, I've been the entire route, from the original Vantage to my current Ultra and I can't imagine working on cars without one. Just retire the old girl (or see if someone will buy it for parts on eBay) and get yourself a good Pro. If the one I had was any indication, you should get many years of use out of it. Mine gave me eight years of reliable use before my dealer gave me a deal on a used Ultra, which I could not refuse.

Best of luck,
LEO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2017, 03:05 PM
Witsend Witsend is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,656
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
My advice: move on. You can find plenty of Pro's on eBay and Craigslist. Yes, they are no longer updated buy Snap On, but they are very useful and serviceable. Personally, I don't think I've used the model-specific features of mine often enough to justify the $450 update fees.
I think the Vantage Pro software can still be updated at the time of this post according to what I see on the web site.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.