Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • akicestorm
    • May 2009

passthrough pro 3 vs 4

hi all so im totally new to this. I just got a ptp3 for what i think was a good deal at 200 bucks. i was wondering the limitations of it vs the 4. is this thing only good till a certain year of vehicles. or is it hit or miss depending on the mfg? most vehicles i see are 2016 and older with most of those being on t he older side. should i keep this or try to make a few mucks on it and get a pvp4?
  • ToltecasChavez
    • Apr 2011

From what someone mentioned, the Passthru 3 is double channel while the Passthru IV has 4 channels. Some newer models require 3 channels or more to communicate with certain modules. Someone asked a question here about that, but not sure if it's true at the end. I haven't programmed any newer models above 2017. I use my cardaq plus 2 and haven't had any problems yet. That is equivalent to the passthru pro 3. The new Cardaq Plus 3 is the same as the Passthrupro IV.

Comment

• bestdamgarage
      • Apr 2016

For 200 bucks if it works you'll make your money back quickly.Keep it.It wont work on super new stuff like chrysler with mega can and like i beleive 2020 some gms.Steep learning curve good luck no get you a laptop set up and partitioned if you gonna do multiple makes you'll be required to have windows ten very shortly home version dont work you need pro and specific acrobat reader versions.Also need to use internet explorer and take off alot of security and set the computer to know the oe sites are safe.Oh yeah keys and certain modules on newer stuff require LSID.https://www.nastf.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=1 http://www.drewtech.com/technician/index.html

Comment

• akicestorm
        • May 2009