Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2019, 07:11 PM
tonybushmin tonybushmin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
tonybushmin Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Intro to GM programming

Hey guys just found this forum and have been reading some really helpful information. I am looking to program a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox 2.4L ecm. I reprogrammed my own vehicle (2006 Dodge Ram 2500) once before using Chrysler software and J2534.

First off I need to know what I need to work in conjunction with my jbox, I found https://www.acdelcotds.com and https://tis2web.service.gm.com
if these are the right sights to start what subscription do I purchase and where do I get the file to flash. I have the vin and part number for the file.

Second, can I reflash a used ecm and write a new vin on it to work with the vehicle. I was told it may not work but I know you can do it for Chrysler but not sure for GM. Just wondering if its possible because we are trying to save the customer some money.

Lastly, is there anything else I need to know before I follow through with the flash. On my Dodge there was a pin that I needed to know for the SKIM system in the key fob and luckily I was on the phone with a guy who helped me and got it for me.

I want to be fully prepared this time before I dive into a customers ecm.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2019, 06:49 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,837
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Don't forget a battery maintainer .What type of Jbox are you going to use?
I've only done ECM flashes at the dealer. All the ECMs I ever installed outside the dealer were used ECUs where a Chinaman scan tool was still able to communicate with old ECU and retrieve needed information and force write VINs ,to the replacement otherwise Sianara Suckers.
Couple years ago I initially bought a new Windows 10 Pro laptop in order to do programming from because they want you to use Windows 7or 10 Pro(not Home Version) , however at the time a lot of the OE manufacturers are still stuck on Windows 7 , wanting you to uninstall your anti virus, use old Internet Explorer versions, use old Java versions. Can't have Ford and Mazda on same PC, and other makes Jbox software conflicts with each other and can't be together on the same PC.
I gave the new laptop to my wife so I can take over her old Window 7 Pro , but she's b@tching now I have to buy her MicroShaft Word with Excess and powerpunch, for new laptop so it's still sitting basically unused.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2019, 08:00 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 362
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Chevy's are the easiest of them all. Just need a good battery charger, ALWAYS. I even have my charger on my laptop bc I have run into a few problems when my laptop is running on battery. Very low power can screw up the programming. Once you have set up the long process of registering to ACDelco subscriptions. It's easy. Used or new, they both can be programmed. Only way to get the VIN changed is to flash the old or used PCM. Make sure you use the New Option so it force flashes the old PCM. You will see the option once ur in the programming system. After flashing PCM comes the 10 minute antitheft programming to start the car. Just a tip, I think on new PCM's the antitheft relearn is not needed. Should check anyways if the car doesn't start after flashing New PCM. Used PCM you will always have to do antitheft relearn. Let the programming do it's job for 10 minutes and done! If you get crank correlation codes, just do the crank relearn using any scan tool. Most have it. I do it all the time, because random misfires at high RPM is usually caused by not doing relearn. Anyways, that should take around 30 minutes if you have done it before. Good Luck!


https://www.acdelcotds.com/subscriptions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2019, 12:50 PM
bestdamgarage bestdamgarage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: mich
Posts: 85
bestdamgarage Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

You should be fine with used on that vehicle .Newer vehicles that are global cannot use used modules.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2019, 05:01 AM
tonybushmin tonybushmin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
tonybushmin Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Okay this sounds easy enough. I am going to purchase a subscription soon and I will see how it goes. I saw videos on YouTube with older GMs that they would just a vin relearn in the scan tool and everything worked. And also with older ones they would do a 30 minute key relearn process, the key crank, key off, key on 10 min, key off, key on 10, that type of thing.

Also on the acdelco website, in the faq someone asked about what subscription they should purchase with the j2534 and they said tis2web - service programming subscription. Is this the same subscription that I see on acdelcotds.com/subscriptions under programming?

Last edited by tonybushmin; 02-27-2019 at 05:20 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2019, 06:03 AM
Steve6911's Avatar
Steve6911 Steve6911 is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wantagh, New York
Posts: 1,816
Steve6911 You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

here is a link to an older GM video, should show you what you will be doing.

https://youtu.be/SPbpOaH9g7k
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2019, 06:33 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 362
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

The option that says Programming: Vehicle Programming Software. You purchase the $40 for 1 VIN. After you buy the subscription, there's gonna be a few things that are gonna need to be installed if it's ur first time. Just follow prompts and you should be good. After everything needed installs, you will see the SPS screen. Once you connect to the car and are ready to flash, the program will either show u the VIN of the car, show you a screen saying no VIN and you have to manually input it. After you successfully program the car, the subscription will be tied to that one VIN. You will always see that VIN everytime you log in to ur account until you exhaust all your programming "Chances". That's what I call them. So if a car has 3 programmable modules, you get 3 chances to flash. After the 3rd time, the session for that VIN will be over and you will have to buy another subscription if you want to flash that same car again. Anyways, I rambled to long. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2019, 06:56 PM
tonybushmin tonybushmin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
tonybushmin Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Will this work on a 2011? What is the cutoff year for reprogramming used computers?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2019, 08:21 PM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 185
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonybushmin View Post
Will this work on a 2011? What is the cutoff year for reprogramming used computers?
2011 Equinox is a "Global" vehicle,so I would say no.

Vehicles supported by GDS2 are Global,see here> https://gsi.ext.gm.com/userguides/GD...d_Vehicles.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2019, 02:59 AM
tonybushmin tonybushmin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
tonybushmin Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glide View Post
2011 Equinox is a "Global" vehicle,so I would say no.

Vehicles supported by GDS2 are Global,see here> https://gsi.ext.gm.com/userguides/GD...d_Vehicles.pdf
Dang. I wrote the wrong year and 2007 was a different vehicle.

I read a post on here about a guy programming a 2010 but only after many failed attempts. All im gonna need to do is change the vin. Oh well I guess new ecu it is...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.