Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Scanner Capabilities
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2018, 10:46 AM
kirkbarrow.garage kirkbarrow.garage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 141
kirkbarrow.garage Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Mt2500/mtg2500

As there does " not " appear to be a specific forum for the above scanners, I thought here ' might ' be appropriate.

I have just aqquired a newer cartridge for my MT2500 and MTG2500.

When I press the start button on either unit, on the MT2500 I get the first two ( top and third rows of lcd segments and no further, with the MTG2500, after pressing the start button, I get the full screen pixels lit and then no further.

Has anyone come across this and figured a way past this ?

It would be good as I could then have a newer cartridge for my MTG2500 which would allow me to move the 1 year older cartridge into my MT2500 and then this would be 2 years newer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2018, 11:28 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,757
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

If changing your 9 v battery and cleaning the electrical contact points of the cartridge doesn't resolve issue maybe the cartridge you obtained is NFG . Thought at one stage or another the internal board may needs some kind of a hardware prom chips upgraded beforehand , to be able to use the last of the Mohican black programmable cartridges?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2018, 08:47 AM
WisdomWarlord WisdomWarlord is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Roseville
Posts: 3
WisdomWarlord Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I know, I'm a little late to the party, but if you haven't resolved this I might have a solution. On my MTG2500 and my MT2500, with the non-programmable carts in, the screen displays text pretty quick. But, with the programmable, there is a definite delay. At least 4 seconds. I thought the scanner was bad because of this. I decided I was gonna hold the QuickID button down until my thumb went numb or the scanner did something besides light up the first and 3rd rows of pixels! Well, the problem seems to be that the booting sequence and larger databases on the programmables do indeed take significantly longer. So, press and hold the QuickID button, count to 15, and if you still dont have either scanner booting up, THEN I would condemn the cartridges.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2018, 09:00 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,757
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I rarely power up the MT2500 holding the button down and using the 9 v battery. Always plug it into the vehicle DLC and powers up by 12v power
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2018, 04:12 AM
jackie jackie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: nsw
Posts: 1
jackie Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default mtg2500

hi there im very new to this scanner, and I am wanting to know a bit about it but one of things I want to know about it at the moment is the ac battery charger 12v or 24v

and realistically is it a good model?
and does it still have some value?
thank you Jackie.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2018, 05:22 PM
petar.rutesic petar.rutesic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Podgorica
Posts: 2
petar.rutesic Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Hi,

I have MTG 2500 scanner which I use mostly for my Wrangler 4.0 1995.

It worked fine until tonight - when I hook it up to DLC it powers up, all pixels on LCD lit up and then it shuts down after 4-5 secs. If I reconnect to DLC immediately same thing happens but now it shuts down in 2 secs.

Battery is bad but as far as I know battery is not used once scanner is connected to DLC. If I unplug battery I get the same symptoms.

I have multiple primary cartridges, so I don't think this is issue with cartridge since every one used to work fine before.

Any tips? Did anyone had issue like this before?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2018, 03:37 AM
kirkbarrow.garage kirkbarrow.garage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 141
kirkbarrow.garage Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petar.rutesic View Post
Hi,

I have MTG 2500 scanner which I use mostly for my Wrangler 4.0 1995.

It worked fine until tonight - when I hook it up to DLC it powers up, all pixels on LCD lit up and then it shuts down after 4-5 secs. If I reconnect to DLC immediately same thing happens but now it shuts down in 2 secs.

Battery is bad but as far as I know battery is not used once scanner is connected to DLC. If I unplug battery I get the same symptoms.

I have multiple primary cartridges, so I don't think this is issue with cartridge since every one used to work fine before.

Any tips? Did anyone had issue like this before?

This sounds to me ( at least ) that there is a connection issue to the lcd or other connection inside the MTG2500, if you go carefully and slowly/steadily you can disassemble the unit and check/clean connections before reassembly or possibly find a working unit on eBay.com.


For anyone with a Snap On MTG2500 like myself, the original rechargeable battery can be replaced by an 800 mah PP3 battery with snap terminal connector which allows normal use again.

I did and was totally satisfied with the result.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.