Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Scanner Capabilities
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2018, 02:38 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,833
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default 04 Expedition replace ABS module/HCU assembly

Have a customer with a 04 Expedition with Midwest Rusty lines and undercarriage he's in love with thing enough to have transmission rebuilt despite telling him his brake lines are rotting and ABS unit is inoperative with a code for the ABS pump. Now one is leaking he wants me to replace all the brake lines, but I told him , I wouldn't be able to perform the automated bleed procedure unless the ABS module and or complete HCU assembly with pump gets changed out with another assembly with another ABS module of same exact part #. Which he was able to find and order off Ebay and have by weekend.
I'm hoping before doing any brake line replacement to select programmable module installation on Maxi Cyst and then just plug the used assembly in when instructed to do so and hopefully it successfully write the correct VIN # to the module of the used replacement ABS module and HCU assembly before I can commit myself to doing those rusty lines and then being unable to perform any automated bleed procedure afterwards to get any sort of brake pedal. Is this something anyone has been able to do without a J box and a sub purchased from Ford?
I'm not sure it can be done with a SnapOn Scanner yet but I'm sure plenty shops have Port Freight 08, Cyst 908, or a Lunch box and weigh in with their experience
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2018, 06:52 PM
Glide Glide is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 185
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I've never installed a used Ford ABS module,but I did find this info.


Quote:
CAUTION: Do not replace stability assist modules installed on vehicles built before February 2003 with those manufactured after February 2003.

NOTE: When installing a new module, it must be calibrated and reconfigured (either by download/upload or uploading the as-built database method).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2018, 12:36 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,833
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I told the guy to make sure he orders correct ABS assembly with a module ID of 4L1T-2C219-DB and be sure it's for an 04 with 4x4 and Advance Trak. The seller shipped him a unit from an 03 where the module part is damaged ( cracked )and part # suffix ends in an AB and I see 4x2. He needs to send it back for a refund, but I figured I would experiment and try a programmable module installation to see if it would transfer the correct VIN from old one .Not sure it did because it failed the module configuration procedure and had a module configuration fault code for it (not a VIN Mismatch Code). The original codes for the ABS pump circuit and neg bus communication fault didn't display. Wheel speed Pids displayed. The ABS pump could be actuated in active test, other VSC related PIDS like steering angle and Yaw sensor PIDs did not display with this incorrect module though.Bet I could do the Automated bleed after replacing the brake tubes though
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180822_222505 (Small).jpg (89.6 KB, 68 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2018, 05:49 AM
tech25's Avatar
tech25 tech25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: florida
Posts: 96
tech25 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

hmmm. this sounds like some customer..anyways...the wrong part i think wont work for you, at least you were able to verify the original module is faulty. but i think you will have to have the correct part to move forward.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2018, 09:44 AM
bestdamgarage bestdamgarage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: mich
Posts: 85
bestdamgarage Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Wit even if you get the right one and end up using your j-box good luck getting as built data for a ford that old.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2018, 12:00 PM
BRIAN617 BRIAN617 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: ARKANSAS
Posts: 115
BRIAN617 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Just replace the assembly and bleed, you don't need to reprogram the VIN for it to work.

That part number shows to inter change 03-4 Nav and Exped with trac control

3L1T-CA AND CB
4L1T-CA,CB,DA,DB, EC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:18 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,833
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default Interim Fix to move vehicle for now

HorseShaq says Welcome back Brake brake pedal! Horse shoed the two rear outlet ports of HCU. I can move that Turd around without No pedal to the floor worries and puddles of brake fluid pooling on the floor. I could do Stress free Brake Torques on demand in the parking lot if I wanted to. Pick at it and Do a one rear line section a day and not have my stall disabled.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180823_141837 (Small).jpg (88.5 KB, 51 views)

Last edited by Witsend; 08-28-2018 at 09:33 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:40 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 362
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

So much incorrect information. Anyways, as long as the part numbers are interchangeable, you shouldn't have a problem installing and reprogramming used ABS module. I usually get this info from dealer or (I couldn't believe it at first) from eBay. You can also get it straight from the module itself if you can communicate with it. No taking it out hassle. Then of course you will need As Built Data which is easily available through ford website. So getting the as built data should NEVER be a problem. Transferring VIN has never worked for me. Even BMW has this option and I tried it before and it wouldn't take. Tried it with Ford as well and stopped bc it's easier to just program these modules which takes about 10 minutes or less. Anyways, that's my essay. Good day and good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2018, 07:00 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,833
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Just replace the assembly and bleed, you don't need to reprogram the VIN for it to work.

That part number shows to inter change 03-4 Nav and Exped with trac control

3L1T-CA AND CB
4L1T-CA,CB,DA,DB, EC
Well I got another used assembly that suffix ends in a DA instead of the DB and just plugged it in. It had 3 codes C1998 Module Calibration Fault, B2900 VIN mismatch, and U1900 Can communication bus fault -receive error.
I tried clearing the codes and naturally they would not clear.
I plugged the original one back in and selected programmable module installation which pulled VIN and other information from the original module. I turned off key as instructed andinstalled the salvage yard one, finished procedure and did a IVD reset procedure after backing vehicle to level ground and instructed to turn steering from one stop to the other. I checked codes and the module calibration fault and the Vin mismatch codes were gone, but the U1900 CAN communication fault- receive error was still present and could not be erased, so not I'm not sure if this module is defective too or maybe just needs a Parameter Reset to B@tch Slap something to start listening. I was able to run the pump on active test.Any ideas?
I decided to order the Preformed Motorcraft brake tubes that were available from Rock Auto for this 2004 Expedition with Traction Control (Build date to 12/ 03.) (some of the OE brake tubes do appear to have stainless steel braided flex sections, so hopefully preformed tubes make things a little easier. to change out some of the brake tubes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180826_185552 (Small).jpg (65.2 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg 20180826_100253 (Small).jpg (116.9 KB, 42 views)

Last edited by Witsend; 08-28-2018 at 09:37 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2018, 02:22 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,833
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Well I got suspicious because of the U1900 CAN communication bus fault receive error in the ABS and the U1262 SCP data link fault in the Hybrid Electronic instrument cluster, interior lamps did not come on opening any doors, as well as Scanner did not see more modules especially the 4x4 control module and the Vehicle Security module . I checked power and grounds of the 4x4 module and the 2 communication wires between the 4X4 module and ABS tested ok . I then tested the purple communication wire between the 4x4 module and pin 3 of DLC and it had no continuity . I decided to check a splice that the VSM and the 4X4 module both share located near G301 just rearward of left kick panel, and found a previously repaired splice that had green death . After repair of rejoining violet communication wires back together , the Scan Tool Communicated with 5 more modules and was able to clear all the codes out of everything , so yeah, I believe the Cyst worked out ok for transferring the VIN and as built data from old module and writing it to the used replacement (Programmable module installation)without the need to buy a sub and use a J box. Still Not quite plug and play and could be hit or miss, but it kinda makes me happy not having to give Furd a cent for fixing a Turd they made that's made not to be plug and play. If you have an IDS and you work for someone and your boss is paying for all the subs, then by all means, I think it's the best way to go I do think the location of S349 just under the front of the LF door sill plate and rear end of the LF kick panel is worth having a look at if you have no communication with the 4x4 , VSM, and other modules that you should see, and might otherwise believe is a POS Scanner that just too hit or miss and lacks the ability to detect everything all the time to be The Go to Tool in a professional shop. Glad I checked further. Hit or Miss Chinaman tool is absolved from sin and off the hook for a Miss( this time :-)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180827_145029 (Small).jpg (139.5 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by Witsend; 08-28-2018 at 10:01 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.