X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • scottjh9
    • Dec 2015

New to site and mt2500

Hello to all

i am new to the site but have been reading posts for about 3 weeks. I recently bought a mt2500 scanner version 2.2 with the programmable vci and tsi cartridges for 80 bucks at a pawn shop. I always wanted one for myself and to help others if I can. I am still learning all it can do and I am slowly piecing it together for my needs. I have spent about 100 more for some keys and adapters and manuals and I am looking for a can 1b adapter if someone might want to sell it. All that I have read on the site so far is very informative. I have big diesel as my background so most of my questions will be as a learner. My first is; when I boot up the scanner with both carts installed should the scanner recognize the tsi cartridge and display it as a menu option? Looking forward to learning from everyone. Oh, by the way I have 6 different instruction manuals I am still reading and try them first as not to ask a question that will waste your time. Thanks for having me..Scott
  • Joe Rappa
    Snap-on DSD
    • Aug 2007

Troubleshooter should load and appear as an option as long as it is relevant to the year you are IDing.
    For Example:
    If your Primary Cartridge is good through 2005
    And your Troubleshooter Cartridge is good through 2001

If you ID'd a 99 Ford the Troubleshooter would appear on the Main Menu.
    If you ID'd a 2003 Ford, the scanner would still function on that vehicle, but the Troubleshooter would not appear on the menu.

Also, so you know, either cartridge can go in either slot, and the scanner will function just fine with the Troubleshooter Cartridge missing.

Have fun with your new toy.

Joe
    "You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
    Henry Ford

Comment

• Crusty
      • Dec 2007

Joe, I'm going to rely on your dog years of experience with this question.

The software version scottjh9 has is 2.2