Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Verus User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-13-2018, 06:49 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 227
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

OK, thanks. phill57 said it was the Escape key in the other thread. I guess either works? I'll check it out later.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-13-2018, 07:53 AM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 227
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Holding ESC or Delete works. And the last digit is 3.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2018, 07:02 AM
Turbo1dr Turbo1dr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: New Bern
Posts: 22
Turbo1dr Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Do not try to overclock your VERUS' memory. You will corrupt the BIOS and then you're in for a $1000 repair. Not that I know anything about that....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2018, 09:07 AM
Witsend Witsend is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,930
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Do not try to overclock your VERUS' memory. You will corrupt the BIOS and then you're in for a $1000 repair. Not that I know anything about that....
Good advice and impressive tech savy , however If something goes wrong and Snap On is no longer supporting the Verus and Verus Wireless with software or hardware support any longer guess if you break it , it's broke for good.
If you aren't surfing the web, and use it strictly as a diagnostic tool, then why bother to install Windows 7 for the added security against newer exploits and malware attacks that wouldn't be necessary unless Windows 7 has a component to it, that you can find and set up something called TRIM in BIOS for SSD health and turn off selection for De-fragmentation that might damage an SSD. Maybe XP is too dated to run newer programs or attach newer USB connected devices from ?confused:
Think I'll just continue to use my discontinued Android based ChinaMan tool that I Snagged used last year for $1500 , mainly to get the J2534 it comes with, Hit or Miss but still worth every Cheap Bastard Bottom Feeder penny paid and will use that for another year or two and try to snag a used Verus Edge off Craigslist hopefully for around 2k in a few. I'm already seeing them on Craigs in $4k range. I have not read anything about any improvements to the junky software of Autel 4 channel scope, and their user forum s@cks Donkey .....

Last edited by Witsend; 08-11-2018 at 09:54 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2018, 05:39 AM
Turbo1dr Turbo1dr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: New Bern
Posts: 22
Turbo1dr Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Witsend View Post
If you aren't surfing the web, and use it strictly as a diagnostic tool, then why bother to install Windows 7 for the added security against newer exploits and malware attacks that wouldn't be necessary unless Windows 7 has a component to it, that you can find and set up something called TRIM in BIOS for SSD health and turn off selection for De-fragmentation that might damage an SSD. Maybe XP is too dated to run newer programs or attach newer USB connected devices from ?confused:
I like using Windows 7 because Snap-On doesn't like me to upgrade their unsupported products and make them last for a few more years.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-13-2018, 12:30 PM
Wheel Wheel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 691
Wheel Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo1dr View Post
I like using Windows 7 because Snap-On doesn't like me to upgrade their unsupported products and make them last for a few more years.
in other words to reveal the REAL reason they retired and are fixing to retire
their older, but still more than capable tools.
__________________
You can expect the reputation of your business to be no better than the cheapest item or service you are willing to sell. - Wheel
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-30-2018, 08:38 AM
Hoota Hoota is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Hoota Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Verus update

So i bought a samsung 860evo ssd fof my verus so i could make it faster. When i cloned My old to the new it did not copy the operating system onto the new any idea as to why not now thank you in advance
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-15-2018, 10:31 AM
Turbo1dr Turbo1dr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: New Bern
Posts: 22
Turbo1dr Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoota View Post
So i bought a samsung 860evo ssd fof my verus so i could make it faster. When i cloned My old to the new it did not copy the operating system onto the new any idea as to why not now thank you in advance
Download *Macrium Reflect* home version. Install the FREE HOME version and clone your VERUS HDD to your SSD. Windows XP is not compatible with a SSD. It will still work but it will eventually slow down to a crawl if you write and delete files to it constantly.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-15-2018, 02:17 PM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 227
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I use Macrium Reflect as well. It was the only one I tried that could clone the weird little drive of my old Verdict onto an SSD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.