Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2017, 08:25 AM
quadracerx quadracerx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Graham, WA.
Posts: 4
quadracerx Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default MT3000 Analyzer and MT2400

I know this is an old machine. I got it for nothing and it works!! It doesn't keep the settings for date, port settings etc. I am wondering if it has a CMOS battery (the coin looking type) like a computer?

And if so, how hard it is to change?

I also received a MT2400 with it, but it does not turn on or anything? Is there someone who repairs these?

Thanks for any help you can provide...

Sincerely,

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2017, 04:12 PM
John Forro John Forro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hinckley, Ohiio
Posts: 4
John Forro Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Counsler 2

Steve:
I posted a similar question on the Diagnostic
Work Around Fourm 3/11/16, had no response.
I removed cover and searched and searched for
CMOS a battery, none. Tester is a pain to use
this way. Maybe some sort of super capacitor on
A circuitboard serves this function. Would really
Appreciate some info on this memory loss problem,
I'm shure that you and I are not alone with this
Problem. A schematic would really be helpful to
Figure it out. Time and date ,really not a big deal
But losing saved patterns and having to reset the
Comm.ports every time to use Gas Analyzer is
Aggravating. Sincerely, John Forro Sr.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2017, 04:28 PM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,839
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Think it's able to run off a DC car battery , so if you shut it down and don't leave it plugged in to ac , clip it to a battery with DC power adapter if you unplug the unit to move it around before you switch it to AC power and plug it in.I don't care if mine thinks it's 1980.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2017, 06:11 PM
John Forro John Forro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hinckley, Ohiio
Posts: 4
John Forro Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Counsler 2

Dear Senior Member:
You are 100 percent correct on switching from
A/C to D/C and this should help Steve. It does
Mean however that at first power on,after being
Off you will have to set up the comm ports and
Ground references for the lab scope and time and
Date if you so choose and maintain a separate
Battery when you disconnect from the vehicles
Battery to retain settings. Not a big deal when
You consider the capabilities of these fine testers.
Thank you for your quick and accurate response.
Sincerely,John Forro Sr.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2017, 06:06 AM
John Forro John Forro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hinckley, Ohiio
Posts: 4
John Forro Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Quadracer x

Steve:
Took a second look inside Counsler2
Main circuit board has small box as part of the
board, no identifying markings on it but I am
starting to think it might be a battery of some
type. Again, a schematic would be extremely
valuable.If you find any more. Info, would
appreciate a post. Thanks, sincerely, John.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2017, 08:35 AM
sha_tay sha_tay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukie
Posts: 2
sha_tay Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Mt3000 cmos?

Has anybody solved this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2017, 09:53 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,839
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I think the engineers, and the folk that designed and serviced the Counselor 2 in the field back in the day when they were new and under warranty have moved on to Banging Ole Biddys after Bingo in Florida retirement communities before their C -grand-Mos batteries run out in their Pace makers.
I don't give a Sh@t if my Counselor 2 reads 20 years before Y2k, just like to know if there is a decrepit old battery that might leak and F up a board or something ,be good to know I should pull it out before it does.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LruyfJJT7qY
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2018, 06:58 PM
NYengineer NYengineer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Conesus, NY
Posts: 1
NYengineer Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Yes, it's a super cap

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Forro View Post
Steve:
Took a second look inside Counsler2
Main circuit board has small box as part of the
board, no identifying markings on it but I am
starting to think it might be a battery of some
type. Again, a schematic would be extremely
valuable.If you find any more. Info, would
appreciate a post. Thanks, sincerely, John.
John, That box is, indeed a super capacitor 1F, 5.5V rating. It can be replaced with a new, smaller form factor super cap, but you'll need to solder lead extensions to the replacement to fit the gap left by that huge, original design cap. The trick to make it work, though, is to pre-charge the newly installed cap using a 3-5 volt battery, as the circuit charge pump does not seem sufficient. Once done, voila!, the keep alive memory works. The part number that I used from Mouser is 80-FGR0H105ZF. In my opinion, this is still a useful tool, especially when paired with the exhaust gas analyzer. Oh, how I wish I could have bought my first one in the 90's as cheaply as I got my last two! I know this is an old post, but am sure someone may visit this thread again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2018, 01:28 AM
jeffberk jeffberk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Aurora
Posts: 1
jeffberk Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default new owner of MT3000A

Can the word "new" and "MT3000A" be used in the same sentence.
I just picked this up but as with most of these out there, the memory battery is dead. QuadracerX, Thanks for the information on the capacitor. I'm not too proficient with soldering so I will find someone who is and will look into getting the "super capacitor" once I get more familiar with the instrument.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.