Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Verus User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:26 PM
Tkempt200 Tkempt200 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Tkempt200 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Chipset repair

I acquired a non working Verus I believe I have found out why. Little back story for fun is that this unit would power up but no screen activity. Well I took it all part to get to the hard drive to make sure it was good. I was able to put it in my gaming computer as a second drive and see it and run files on it so the drive is good just could not boot from it. I found out later about the encryption on these things. Also seen about a bad ram chip would also give a no boot. When I started looking there I found a chip that is exploded we’ll say. Now I believe this chip would have been a chip that had a 226v 40372 writing on it. Just judging by size and shape so I have no way of confirming this so that where I need the help. And maybe where I could get one.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:44 PM
SnapOnKid's Avatar
SnapOnKid SnapOnKid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 822
SnapOnKid Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Snap on Does not hand out that info.

What model is the Verus you are working on? Maybe those that have had them apart might know or have a picture of the same board.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2018, 09:11 PM
Tkempt200 Tkempt200 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Tkempt200 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

EEMS323
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:35 PM
Tkempt200 Tkempt200 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Tkempt200 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lansford View Post
Well first you have to determine whether this is 2 pins or more?
Looks to be 2 pins

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lansford View Post
Is this under the CPU Heatsink/Fan?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lansford View Post
Could the part number be 220 not 226?
Iím just basicing it off of one that close in size and shape to one on the board so truly could not tell ya what it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lansford View Post
The letters in this series are A, B, C, CA, Y, Z
Something else I couldnít tell ya.

The soldering iron I have will not unsolder the chip. I guess it wonít get hot enuff. It old. So I canít look under it and see enything. Iíve had other failed projects due to that thing so Iíll be looking into a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2018, 03:25 AM
John Lansford John Lansford is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
John Lansford Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I was wrong in my post about the chip being a TVS. The way it exploded and the black coloring in the photo made me think it was similar to my problem.

The capacitor nearby is a 22uF 40Volt Capacitor.


These chips are difficult to unsolder because of the non-lead solder.

Last edited by John Lansford; 09-13-2018 at 03:42 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2018, 05:19 AM
Tkempt200 Tkempt200 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Tkempt200 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

In last nights reading I found where there thing come from. I believe itís made by avx.com

http://datasheets.avx.com/TAJ.pdf

I can match up the logo 226 and the V but the 40372 is still a question.

I put a email in to them so weíll see what happens
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2018, 05:36 AM
John Lansford John Lansford is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
John Lansford Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

AVX

22uF 50Volt Tantalum Capacitor

Last edited by John Lansford; 09-13-2018 at 10:29 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2018, 05:38 AM
John Lansford John Lansford is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
John Lansford Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

That is a capacitor in the Switch Mode Power Supply Circuit.

Wonder what other devices might have blown along that path?
You said the Screen is black?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2018, 06:57 AM
Tkempt200 Tkempt200 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Tkempt200 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

The touchscreen does not come on and when. You use a external monitor the monitor can see something is plug in it but there is no video signal. Iíve read on anther post about a bad ram card doing that as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2018, 02:59 PM
Tkempt200 Tkempt200 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Tkempt200 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Well I ordered what I thought was going the right thing. It is for sure not the same.

I’ve update link to go to the right one

https://www.digikey.com/product-deta...7-1-ND/1164443

But what I did learn no matter what way you flip it and I even tried just putting a jumper in and it did not change anything but when I put a jumper in it would just give a power light no WiFi light or fans.

Last edited by Tkempt200; 09-22-2018 at 06:02 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.