Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:17 AM
sbreland73's Avatar
sbreland73 sbreland73 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 975
sbreland73 You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

My penny and half: a few years back, I worked at shop that did extensive diesel repair, and even those techs would scream that the Cummins contoller on some model years (which is NOT Chrysler software) does not play nice sometimes, even with a DRBIII.
__________________
S. Breland
Christian Brothers Automotive

"Intelligence is the ability to adapt to change." Stephen Hawking
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-18-2012, 11:00 PM
neilrowland neilrowland is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: mesa,arizona
Posts: 1
neilrowland Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Smile pass thru pro and dodge cummins

my son and i have a mobile diag.and reflashing buisiness.the problem IS with chrysler on these vehicles.chrysler tried to marry a cummins engine pcm with a ngc controller.I have the factory chrysler tools and i won't do these because it's a software issue between these controllers.the dealers are having problems but they have a stock of computers they can throw at the problem and we don't.we use a pass thru pro and a standard i-flash daily and don't have any problems flashing. alot of times you need the factory tools to finish the configurations.some gm modules will only program old school.had a 2005 trailblazer passanger door module that will only program tech2 remote.this is not all plug and play like alot of folks believe.takes alot of research and patience to learn and the auto manufacturers are less than helpful to say the least.the 2 tools i mentioned are verified through the oem's websites.every manufacturer has specifications listed.you can find links through nastf.Happy reading.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-22-2012, 05:35 PM
Banchor171 Banchor171 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Banchor171 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default You need to read before trying to program.

Did you install the tool box. In big red letter it tell you not to perform reflash on on dodge cummins modules. it will not write the vin back to the module. Not the tool the user. This is why i say read and read and read somemore before trying to flash promgram.

Good luck.
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-04-2013, 05:39 PM
metrorodo's Avatar
metrorodo metrorodo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: orlando-florida
Posts: 2
metrorodo Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Passthru Pro2

You are absolutely right.I went through the same **** and after countless hours on the phone with technical support,they arrived to the conclusion that i couldn't flash Chrysler products at all.I bought a Verus with the Passthru Pro2 mainly to flash Chryslers,being a Chrysler tech i thought it was a good idea to have this tool...god i was wrong.I tried to flash a 04 Grand Caravan using the scanner and guess what??..not enough memory on the scanner to do it,then i bought a laptop loaded with Win7 just to find out that Chrysler don't like the Passthru Pro2 any more,great! Chryslers is not the only issue here,i had the same problem with Nissans,GMs,Toyotas where the flasher won't communicate with the vehicle due to incompatibility issues.Nothing pisses me off more than to find out i won't be able to flash a vehicle after i paid for a freaking subscription and there's no way to get my money back.i ended up selling the Passthru Pro to a friend of mine...he hasn't talked to me ever since!








Quote:
Originally Posted by dp1mat View Post
We just bought one of these 2 weeks ago. We bought it mainly to reflash Chrysler products. I had a 2000 Concorde it wouldn't flash the pcm but flashed the tcm however my modis didn't communicate with pcm either and I had no 5v ref on anything. I bought a pcm preflashed and car fixed. We had a 2003 1ton dodge I couldn't flash the pcm but it flashed tcm. Today I had a 2005 or 2006 1 ton dodge, complaint of trans shifting funny intermittent no codes, checked the pcm # and found a updated flash for trans shift strategy. Well I download the flash reflash the computer and it sort of hangs at the end says error no communication with bus. I start vehicle it dies, start it again dies. Scan it and it needs vin programmed and the skim relearned needless to say I am upset. Call Snap-On they say it is not their problem its Chrysler problem and that I need call Chrysler yea sure. I then tell Snap-On they need to put a note on their web page stating it doesn't work with Dodge and we get into it. Tell him I bought the thing to flash dodges and whats the use of having to flash it when it will still need to be finished at dealer. Seriously considering sending it back to snap-on. I then find out this about the Pass Thru Pro 2

We are investigating an issue with 2003-2007 Dodge Ram vehicles equipped with Cummins engines. After programming this vehicle, the VIN is lost and the vehicle will not start. Until this problem is resolved, we suggest that technicians avoid reprogramming this vehicle with the techauthority.com website.

Flash Chryslers at you own risk!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-04-2014, 05:15 PM
prmayner prmayner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Longview, Texas
Posts: 35
prmayner Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metrorodo View Post
You are absolutely right.I went through the same **** and after countless hours on the phone with technical support,they arrived to the conclusion that i couldn't flash Chrysler products at all.I bought a Verus with the Passthru Pro2 mainly to flash Chryslers,being a Chrysler tech i thought it was a good idea to have this tool...god i was wrong.I tried to flash a 04 Grand Caravan using the scanner and guess what??..not enough memory on the scanner to do it,then i bought a laptop loaded with Win7 just to find out that Chrysler don't like the Passthru Pro2 any more,great! Chryslers is not the only issue here,i had the same problem with Nissans,GMs,Toyotas where the flasher won't communicate with the vehicle due to incompatibility issues.Nothing pisses me off more than to find out i won't be able to flash a vehicle after i paid for a freaking subscription and there's no way to get my money back.i ended up selling the Passthru Pro to a friend of mine...he hasn't talked to me ever since!

LoL. He wont talk to you no more,That's funny. I just got a ptp2 trying to do a mazda, Man what a pain says no comm. with pcm, but verus communicates fine. Here we go.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-04-2014, 06:25 PM
Steve6911's Avatar
Steve6911 Steve6911 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wantagh, New York
Posts: 1,767
Steve6911 You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

Paul

Make sure your Mazda is not a medium speed can car. Mazda's website states these vehicles cannot be programmed with a J2534 device.



http://www.mazdaserviceinfo.com/PCM.aspx


Steve
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-05-2014, 10:31 AM
badcoupe badcoupe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connertucky IN
Posts: 217
badcoupe Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Mazda can be a pain and there are some that can't be done. I've done two now. GM Ford Kia and honda I've had no issues with other than not being able to do the honda keys. I do our local chrysler dealers non chrysler vehicle service so when I need one done I let them do it for me.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-19-2014, 07:09 PM
MASTERMECH48 MASTERMECH48 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: JACKSONVILLE, FLA
Posts: 4
MASTERMECH48 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Thumbs down Pass thru OOOOPPPSSS

Quote:
Originally Posted by dp1mat View Post
We just bought one of these 2 weeks ago. We bought it mainly to reflash Chrysler products. I had a 2000 Concorde it wouldn't flash the pcm but flashed the tcm however my modis didn't communicate with pcm either and I had no 5v ref on anything. I bought a pcm preflashed and car fixed. We had a 2003 1ton dodge I couldn't flash the pcm but it flashed tcm. Today I had a 2005 or 2006 1 ton dodge, complaint of trans shifting funny intermittent no codes, checked the pcm # and found a updated flash for trans shift strategy. Well I download the flash reflash the computer and it sort of hangs at the end says error no communication with bus. I start vehicle it dies, start it again dies. Scan it and it needs vin programmed and the skim relearned needless to say I am upset. Call Snap-On they say it is not their problem its Chrysler problem and that I need call Chrysler yea sure. I then tell Snap-On they need to put a note on their web page stating it doesn't work with Dodge and we get into it. Tell him I bought the thing to flash dodges and whats the use of having to flash it when it will still need to be finished at dealer. Seriously considering sending it back to snap-on. I then find out this about the Pass Thru Pro 2

We are investigating an issue with 2003-2007 Dodge Ram vehicles equipped with Cummins engines. After programming this vehicle, the VIN is lost and the vehicle will not start. Until this problem is resolved, we suggest that technicians avoid reprogramming this vehicle with the techauthority.com website.

Flash Chryslers at you own risk!
At this news flash I would think that SNAP-ON would be on the hook for reprogramming the vehicles affected by this short comming
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-19-2014, 07:15 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,774
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

That's like being mad at the TV manufacturer because your cable company doesn't carry the show you want. The device works fine. Chrysler, and many other manufacturers, have constant troubles with their flash programming software. Like every Tech, I sure wish it wasn't like this, but it is. It's not the fault of the device though.

Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-25-2014, 08:19 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,756
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Cool

My prediction is the tool is just going to become obsolete because you will no longer be able to add files , only be able to get a reimage of a completely new vehicle operating system at the dealer and the updates done to the system wirelessly wilth the vehicles parked in the dealer service lots.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.