Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sky Masterson
    • May 2011

Need Advice from Tech's

I just passed the CA Smog Exam and am now looking to buy a scanner.

My question to you all is - is it a good idea to buy a USED Solus Pro from lets say ... Ebay?

I'd be saving alot of $$$.

Thanks in advance for your input.
  • dave-m
    • Feb 2011

Ebay is a cr?p shoot. Sometimes you get really good deals, but there's always the chance you get a stolen or broken unit. Always pay attention to the sellers feedback and always pay with Paypal.

Comment

• eddiesverus
      • Dec 2008

Originally posted by Sky Masterson
      I just passed the CA Smog Exam and am now looking to buy a scanner.

My question to you all is - is it a good idea to buy a USED Solus Pro from lets say ... Ebay?

I'd be saving alot of $$$.

Thanks in advance for your input.
      I'm a Smog tech in Cal also and congrats for passing your exam. Owning your own scan tool is a good choice. But for smogs I really recommend you get a good OBD2 scanner. ATS E-scan is a good choice and you could get or find it at EBay very cheap. SnapOn Solus or any Snappy tool has Very Poor and Slow OBD2 testing. I know because I'm always checking OBD2 readiness status and Mode6 test results before and after any emission repairs. and with Snappy tools it just takes too long. good only for full testing and diagnostics once you sell a diagnostic for a smog related failure. OTC Genisys is also a good choice for OBD2 and a starter tech such as yourself and you can find a cheap used one. having more than one platform is whats recommended because you'll find that not all tools are equal. good luck..
      Hard Work, commitment, Honesty and not giving up is what Makes us better Tech's

Comment

• Sky Masterson
        • May 2011

Originally posted by dave-m