Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2019, 09:24 AM
jm43130's Avatar
jm43130 jm43130 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancaster, Ohio 43130
Posts: 154
jm43130 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default Has anyone used Witech 2.0 J2534 yet

I got a SO PTP4 and used it for reflashing ecm and tcm on 2010 and newer Chrysler vehicles and it works good with the Tech Authority J2534. Price to download is $26.00 for a 1 day pass. Has anyone used it on Witech 2.0 J2534 application yet. It is $50.00 for a 3 day pass. Info on toolbox says Chrysler is dropping the old J2534 in Sept of this year, and suggests we get used to the new Witech. I have authorize my PTP 4 thru Witech, but not used it yet. It says Witech will be backward compatible , even pre 2009. If you have used Witech, is there also a charge for Tech Authority to access reflash files? By the way, Witech website where you purchase a 3 day access for $50, states a TEch Authority access also needs purchased to access Secure Gateway Module on new vehicles. But it doesn't say if you also need extra Tech Authority purchase for reflash files on Witech. Thanks for replies in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2019, 11:05 AM
bestdamgarage bestdamgarage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: mich
Posts: 90
bestdamgarage Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Probably need lsid also to get into secure gateway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2019, 04:05 PM
Jimmassta Jimmassta is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 4
Jimmassta Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Not yet, but I might try it one of these days.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2019, 07:26 AM
Plastic_Wingnut Plastic_Wingnut is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Plastic_Wingnut Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Haven't tried yet

This video in the WiTech knowledge base states near the end that to program modules a techauthority subscription is required. I have not tried WiTech yet. https://kb.fcawitech.com/article/325...users-744.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2019, 09:48 AM
Witsend Witsend is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,941
Witsend Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
This video in the WiTech knowledge base states near the end that to program modules a techauthority subscription is required. I have not tried WiTech yet. https://kb.fcawitech.com/article/325...users-744.html
It looks like a PITA to set up and appears the Jbox you plan to use also needs to be approved , and you get codes you have to copy and paste and some Scoobie Yubi key ID and other BS you have to follow in correct order. Makes one want to kick in the radio display and pull the SGM out through the smoking screen like an angry Aztec tears a beating heart out of sacrificial victim and plug in the Autel 12+8 bypass adapter cable

Last edited by Witsend; 06-07-2019 at 02:04 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2019, 04:57 PM
Ruston11 Ruston11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Orlando l
Posts: 39
Ruston11 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default I have done one so far

had to purchase 2 different subs to get to work. I'm not sure if i needed both or not. If anyone does one i would like to know if both are required.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2019, 12:23 AM
Cmatt44 Cmatt44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 2
Cmatt44 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Hello everyone, So if im understanding mopars sites correctly it is only mandatory to use the micropod 2 or "approved" devices on 2018+ vehicles for everything except reading dtc's? Meaning you should still be able to use the pass through's for module programing provided the subscriptions, up until that year?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2019, 09:07 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 384
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmatt44 View Post
Hello everyone, So if im understanding mopars sites correctly it is only mandatory to use the micropod 2 or "approved" devices on 2018+ vehicles for everything except reading dtc's? Meaning you should still be able to use the pass through's for module programing provided the subscriptions, up until that year?
If it's anything like the original Witech, then yes, this will require 2 subscriptions if you're going to flash modules. 1 is for the ability to diagnose modules, get DTC's, some resets here and there. But for flashing, you're going to shell out more money. When the micropod II was introduced, I called AE Tools. They confirmed to me that a diagnostic software subscription was require to talk to modules and another to flash/program. I'm sure it's the same with the new witch 2.0 Mo Money, Mo Problems
And lastly, I have to think Witech 2.0 J2534 will most likely be used only for newer models that have the nasty SGM. For diagnostic purposes, any Autel and Snap-on tools should do the job. Sucks that in order to flash, you'll have to buy both Witech 2.0 and a subscription from Tech Authority to flash.

Last edited by ToltecasChavez; 10-30-2019 at 09:30 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2019, 09:44 AM
Cmatt44 Cmatt44 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 2
Cmatt44 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Mornin folks, ok so ya you will definitely need both subs. And also remember when your done on WiTECH 2.0 to cancel the auto renew it makes you do... Programming was a pain to get all set up with the various "register pc and j2534 tool" nonsense if you dont have the micropod 2 but it works so cant complain. Guess im not surprised now why the chevy boys strut around so gleefully about the thier ecu's lol... thanks for the help gentlemen
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2019, 11:24 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 384
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmatt44 View Post
Mornin folks, ok so ya you will definitely need both subs. And also remember when your done on WiTECH 2.0 to cancel the auto renew it makes you do... Programming was a pain to get all set up with the various "register pc and j2534 tool" nonsense if you dont have the micropod 2 but it works so cant complain. Guess im not surprised now why the chevy boys strut around so gleefully about the thier ecu's lol... thanks for the help gentlemen
Thanks for the update. Sounds like a pain in the butt.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.