Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Verus User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:51 AM
lrparks lrparks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Moberly Mo.
Posts: 2
lrparks Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default verus edge locks up

I have a verus edge updated to 19.2 that when changing from one screen to another it will lock up once in awhile, have to remove battery then everything is normal again. Does anybody know of a fix without having to send it in to Snap-on, Thanks

Last edited by lrparks; 09-19-2019 at 10:33 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2019, 11:27 AM
tech25's Avatar
tech25 tech25 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: florida
Posts: 142
tech25 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I havnt seen this problem on a edge.. but i dont have alot of experience with the verus edge..

that being said. with any windows related pc. temperature can be a problem. has the unit been very cold or hot when this happens??

also how is the battery condition/holding charge??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2019, 01:05 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is online now
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,846
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Before I sent anything in for repair I'd try calling Tech Support.
If you don't want to do that, then re-image the unit. If it's a software problem, that will fix it.
Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:57 PM
Jay G.'s Avatar
Jay G. Jay G. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 412
Jay G. Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrparks View Post
I have a verus edge updated to 19.2 that when changing from one screen to another it will lock up once in awhile, have to remove battery then everything is normal again. Does anybody know of a fix without having to send it in to Snap-on, Thanks
It would be best to call the diagnostic support center and let them troubleshoot the problem.
__________________
Ineptocracy (in-ep-toc’-ra-cy) - a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:36 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,462
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

I have the problem of my Edge locking up too from time to time. I think it's mostly after switching vehicles and I think it might have something to do with not closing out the first vehicle.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2019, 05:56 AM
lrparks lrparks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Moberly Mo.
Posts: 2
lrparks Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

you may be right i know with the zeus you have to ciose out of the vehicle your working on before disconnecting it or you will have problems
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2019, 09:40 PM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 239
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

My Edge is still on 17.4 and I haven't seen the issue. But now that you mention it, the up to date shop Zeus has locked up twice just as you describe. It gets used a lot more than my Edge though. (Same hardware)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2019, 09:55 AM
felmar felmar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: MIAMI
Posts: 4
felmar Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

mine is doing it and even if I closed the last vehicle , I remove the battery to start againg , I dont know the cause of this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2019, 11:13 AM
jm43130's Avatar
jm43130 jm43130 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancaster, Ohio 43130
Posts: 154
jm43130 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

My Verus Edge is on 19.2, and it has started that locking up thing. Just when selecting another screen, not when changing vehicles or backing out. I have to hold power button, it then shuts down. But when I restart it , it comes to recover screen, and I just wait 30 seconds for timer to count down and it restart okay. If I had keyboard attached, I probably could select proper selection and bypass 30 second timer. Not a big deal, but it has only started doing this the last couple of weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2019, 04:32 PM
JIMTUNE JIMTUNE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 3
JIMTUNE Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Thumbs down

I bought my Edge in 15, and it was a great machine, UNTIL I updated to 19.2, now it locks up, and is much slower than before the update. They changed the PID text to a gray color, as well as the graph text from white on black to gray on black. What kind of sense does that make? Tech support told me tough S%$t, and I will have to pay another 1500.00 and MAYBE they will "fix" the issues THEY created in the next update.

Now my dealer tells me tech support thinks I need a battery. Tried it on AC charging , same issue. Battery is 3+ weeks out and I will likely be without my tool until next year.

This does not encourage brand loyalty. Others I have talked to have same or similar experiences.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.