Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Verus User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2019, 01:04 PM
Matt Matt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 252
Matt Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default CODE SCAN

I performed a Pre-Scan with my Verus Edge with 19.4 on a 2015 ford explorer. Pre-scan came back stating it analyzed 20 different systems, identified all 20 systems, and recorded any associated fault codes. Very comprehensive and giving me the impression all modules had been accessed. All was great until later I found out the air bag light was on and customer stated that it had illuminated off and on over the last few years. I attempted to communicate with the air bag module directly and found no communication as a result. Most likely internal air bag module fault. Why did the Pre-Scan report not indicate failed comm attempt with restraint module? The Pre-Scan report presented the list of systems that were successfully accessed as if it were the complete list of modules in the vehicle. I would like to see a flag raised during a code scan event if no communication was established with a specific module. I guess I don't read down through each list of pre-scanned systems making sure all modules are present and ask myself if I need to individually scan each one to ensure comms. Isn't the point of the code scan to consolidate all code retrieval attempts into one feature?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2019, 02:15 PM
tech25's Avatar
tech25 tech25 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: florida
Posts: 142
tech25 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I have had this issue too with other makes. like you said. during a complete code scan, it will access x many module, then when you attempt to locate a module individually, its either not there, or does not work properly. Obviously a sw bug. I would gladly report these specific issues but i feel they fall on def ears.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:11 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,846
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Right or wrong, the way it works is if the scanner pings a module during code scan and doesn't find it, it just skips it. I bet this happens because an aftermarket scanner wouldn't know how any particular car is equipped, so if it doesn't find a seat module, it just doesn't list it in the code scan results. If it did, then it would list every module that the vehicle isn't optioned with. On older vehicles that can be a pain, but thankfully most newer CAN equipped vehicles won't fall victim to that. If the ABS module is off line, then most other modules will have a code for it being missing, and you'll spot it that way.
Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2019, 06:00 PM
Glide Glide is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 241
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Rappa View Post
Right or wrong, the way it works is if the scanner pings a module during code scan and doesn't find it, it just skips it. I bet this happens because an aftermarket scanner wouldn't know how any particular car is equipped, so if it doesn't find a seat module, it just doesn't list it in the code scan results.Joe
Some OEM scanners often do this as well.If a module doesn't communicate during a scan,and there are no communication codes set, it's as if the module isn't there.
On the other side of the coin, Hyundai's GDS Mobile(tablet) lists every module that is possible on the model/year that is being scanned,and says "no communication,check to see if this system is installed" if /when there is no communication to a module. That can be a pain as well if the Tech is not familiar with that particular vehicle.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2019, 07:17 PM
GypsyR GypsyR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Chesnee
Posts: 239
GypsyR Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I've been bitten by that too. I came to about the same conclusion as Joe Rappa, though I'm sure he states it better. Since it's now something I know to watch out for it's not so big a deal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2019, 07:15 AM
Matt Matt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 252
Matt Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyR View Post
I've been bitten by that too. I came to about the same conclusion as Joe Rappa, though I'm sure he states it better. Since it's now something I know to watch out for it's not so big a deal.
It's good to see others have had similar experiences. I don't want to give the impression that I don't like the CODE SCAN feature. I feel its brilliant and a huge time saver. It just has limitations like everything else. Like GypsyR said I know what to watch for.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:00 PM
Crusty Crusty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great White North
Posts: 2,415
Crusty You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

I don't have a current GM scan tool, but this discussion sounds like the GM DBDT would be very useful.
Apparently it will tell you when someone is supposed to be there but isn't responding or active (off line)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2019, 12:19 PM
Matt Matt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 252
Matt Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusty View Post
I don't have a current GM scan tool, but this discussion sounds like the GM DBDT would be very useful.
Apparently it will tell you when someone is supposed to be there but isn't responding or active (off line)
That's exactly what were talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2019, 01:24 PM
Glide Glide is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 241
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Data Bus Diagnostic Tool is only available with a GDS2 subscription.It does work well.Other OEMs have similar tools with their factory scan tool software.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.