Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Scanner Capabilities
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Vantage PRO, Instrumentation combined with documentation makes the Vantage PRO the favorite tool of the top diagnostic technicians.
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:44 AM
ephratah service center ephratah service center is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: EPHRATAH NY
Posts: 82
ephratah service center Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default 01 chevy cavalier mode 6 can or class 2?

Does an 01 cavalier with 2.2 push rod engine run on a CAN platform or class 2 platform? I have one that I have repaired the evap on and am attempting to get monitors to run for inspection and have driven 120 miles and have 2 monitors that will not run. The 02 monitor and the evap monitor will not run.
I have gone into mode 6 and see some of the evap test have failed but do not which mode 6 data to use.
The customer said last year when she had vehicle inspected at another shop they had the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:59 AM
Steve6911's Avatar
Steve6911 Steve6911 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wantagh, New York
Posts: 1,299
Steve6911 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephratah service center View Post
I have gone into mode 6 and see some of the evap test have failed but do not which mode 6 data to use.
The customer said last year when she had vehicle inspected at another shop they had the same problem.
If the monitor has not run you can not use it's data. Only after the monitor has run pass or fail can you use it. Have you looked up the criteria needed to run the monitor?


Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2009, 05:43 AM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,266
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

If you have recent software on your scanner you should be able to mature the EVAP monitor with the Service Bay Test.
As Steve also noted, if the monitr hasn't run, the data can't be trusted...however, on any GM I've ever looked at the Mode 6 tests that haven't run simply have a value of 0 for the test results until the monitor runs. You can go into Mode 6 to see if any parts of the O2 and EVAP Monitors have run.

To answer your question, that car is not CAN.
To finish inspecting it, go to Functional Tests and run the Service Bay Test.

Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2009, 04:49 AM
ephratah service center ephratah service center is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: EPHRATAH NY
Posts: 82
ephratah service center Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I have a Solus running 9.2 and vehicle does not seem to have the option to run the evap service bay test. I took vehicle on the thruway this morning to try to get monitors to run I think I remember seeing someplace about needing a speed of 72 MPH. still did not run monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2009, 04:57 AM
Crusty Crusty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,326
Crusty Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephratah service center View Post
Does an 01 cavalier with 2.2 push rod engine run on a CAN platform or class 2 platform? I have one that I have repaired the evap on and am attempting to get monitors to run for inspection and have driven 120 miles and have 2 monitors that will not run. The 02 monitor and the evap monitor will not run.
I have gone into mode 6 and see some of the evap test have failed but do not which mode 6 data to use.
The customer said last year when she had vehicle inspected at another shop they had the same problem.
As Steve says, look in your MOD/AllData for the requirements to make the monitors run. As Joe says I believe it runs GM not CAN

Try having it cold, IAT & CTS within afew degrees of each other, make sure the fuel tank level is ABOVE 15% and BELOW 85%. Put the heater/AC controls in defrost, put the temperature setting at full heat, fan on low speed.
Start the car, and let it idle on it's own for around 10 minutes. Usually after 2-3 minutes you'll start to see some activity on the evap purge and vent solonoids, then watch the fuel tank pressure pids. The voltage should go up and the vacuum should go down. Just sit there and watch 'em. after it releases the vent, the voltage will drop and the vacuum will rise (usually around 7-8 minutes). Then put it in gear and drive away normally. The evap test state should display "done" within 2-4 minutes of driving.
Maybe that'll help the evap monitor. If it doesn't complete, check for codes & follow the charts.
I can't remember the procedure to complete the O2 monitor off the top of my head right now but check it as Steve says.
HTH. Crusty

Last edited by Crusty : 06-06-2009 at 04:59 AM. Reason: not complete, check for codes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2009, 05:02 AM
Crusty Crusty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,326
Crusty Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephratah service center View Post
I have a Solus running 9.2 and vehicle does not seem to have the option to run the evap service bay test. I took vehicle on the thruway this morning to try to get monitors to run I think I remember seeing someplace about needing a speed of 72 MPH. still did not run monitors.
It shouldn't have to go that high, perhaps you saw 72 K.P.H, not mph?? I can usually see the monitor "complete"/"done" before I hit 60kph.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:29 PM
ephratah service center ephratah service center is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: EPHRATAH NY
Posts: 82
ephratah service center Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Ran car for 40 Minutes with no activity on the any of the evap solenoids. IAT and ECT were with in 2 degrees of each other. Ran the a\c and fan on low speed. Have no codes and do not have option for pending codes.
Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:50 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,266
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Are you sure that the Service Bay Test is not in the Functional Test Menu? If it's not there, it's back to Mode 6. Get the Test IDs from Shopkey, or service.gm.com Try to see if you can't identify which part of the monitor is hanging. On a GM, and Test that shows a desired value, but the test result is 0, has not been able to finish yet. If it shows zeros for both values (desired and actual), then it hasn't even tried to run it yet.
Don't apply these rules to other manufacturers.

Steve6911 can speak from experience on this one. He had a Ford that wouldn't run the EVAP Monitor. It was aborting for excess fuel slosh. Even though Ford doesn't have a trouble code for that, it will hang a monitor. Check to see if any of the Monitors are aborting, and try to make some sense of it.

Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-08-2009, 01:17 AM
Crusty Crusty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,326
Crusty Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephratah service center View Post
Ran car for 40 Minutes with no activity on the any of the evap solenoids. IAT and ECT were with in 2 degrees of each other. Ran the a\c and fan on low speed. Have no codes and do not have option for pending codes.
Any other ideas?
See if there is "purge & seal" in Functional Tests. On the left side of the selections you can turn it On & Off. If the system is capable, if you leave it on it will pull the FTP vacuum down and the FTP voltage will go up. It'll reach it's maximum and then abort due to too much vacuum. That's OK, It's a protection. The FTP voltage should head for 3.8, 3.9, 4.0 volts or more. The vacuum should head for -18 to -22mmHG.
Just start the engine & idle it, select the purge/seal and watch the Fuel-Tank-Pressure values. If nothing happens check the vent solonoid inboard of the right rear wheel above the axle. They're common.
In functional tests, there should also be individual selections for the Purge solonoid & the vent solonoid.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-08-2009, 03:43 PM
ephratah service center ephratah service center is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: EPHRATAH NY
Posts: 82
ephratah service center Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

tried purge and seal test today went to 50% purge and tank pressure voltage went to 1.80 and pressure went to 2.91mmHG.
I noticed that when car is off the FTP voltage is 1.49 and -0.18mmHG is this normal?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.