Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Snap-on Diagnostics VerusPro
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2011, 07:12 PM
jbakers1 jbakers1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 9
jbakers1 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Vin Writing a 09 dodge dakota

I'm New to flash programing,I recntly purchaced an actia pass trhu pro.Does any one know if i can program the vin number in a new pcm on a 09 dadge dakota? I have one on monday i have to due.
also thinking about buying a DRB 3 But heard that they will not work for 09 and newer vehicles. Is this correct? Thanks in advance for any replys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2011, 07:45 PM
Orevin's Avatar
Orevin Orevin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,055
Orevin Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I don't know if the Actia PTP can write the VIN. If it's a blank PCM, your MODIS might be able to do this.

You are correct, the DRB3 does not work on a 09. It will not work on any CAN vehicle. Here is a link to a Chrysler scan tool chart:
http://www.oemtools.com/images/Chrys...2_AppChart.pdf

Did you read up on what else needs to be done when replacing the PCM on this truck? I haven't done it myself yet, but I checked on Alldata and the factory scan tool might be required to finish the job.
__________________
-Kai-
Chicago, IL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2011, 08:12 PM
USpMD's Avatar
USpMD USpMD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 171
USpMD Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Per Chrysler ;

08 - Electrical/8E - Electronic Control Modules/MODULE, Powertrain Control/Installation
INSTALLATION
Labor Operations: Click to display a list of Labor Operations associated with this procedure


CAUTION: Certain ABS systems rely on having the Powertrain Control Module (PCM) broadcast the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) over the bus network. To prevent problems of DTCs and other items related to the VIN broadcast, it is recommend that you disconnect the ABS CAB (controller) temporarily when replacing the PCM. Once the PCM is replaced , write the VIN to the PCM using a diagnostic scan tool. This is done from the engine main menu. Arrow over to the second page to “1. Miscellaneous”. Select “Check VIN” from the choices. Make sure it has the correct VIN entered before continuing. When the VIN is complete, turn off the ignition key and reconnect the ABS module connector. This will prevent the setting of DTCs and other items associated with the lack of a VIN detected when you turn the key ON after replacing the PCM.


CAUTION: Use a diagnostic scan tool to reprogram the new PCM with the vehicles original identification number (VIN) and the vehicles original mileage. If this step is not done, a Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC) may be set.




1. Position PCM (3) to vehicle.
2. Install three PCM mounting bolts (2).
3. Tighten bolts to 3-5 N·m (30-40 in. lbs.).




4. Be sure ground strap (4) is secured both at bottom of PCM, and at inner-fender.
5. Check pin connectors in the PCM. Also check the four 38-way connectors (2) for corrosion or damage. Repair as necessary.
6. Install the four 38-way connectors (2) to PCM.
7. Connect negative battery cable.
8. Use the diagnostic scan tool to reprogram new PCM with vehicles original Identification Number (VIN) and original vehicle mileage. If this step is not done, a Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC) may be set.


NOTE: On vehicles equipped with the optional Sentry Key Immobilizer System (SKIS), if the Sentry Key REmote Entry Module (SKREEM) is replaced with a new unit or the PCM , a diagnostic scan tool MUST be used to initialize the new SKREEM and to program at least two Sentry Key transponders before the vehicle can be operated.(Refer to 08 - Electrical/Vehicle Theft Security - Standard Procedure) .


see posts; http://productforum.autorepairdata.c...ead.php?t=5236
__________________
"I wanna help the helpless, but I could careless about the clueless". Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2011, 03:33 PM
jbakers1 jbakers1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 9
jbakers1 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Thanks For the info, Do you think my modis will do the vin writing and the odomter. I have ver 11.2?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2011, 03:50 PM
Trindaddy's Avatar
Trindaddy Trindaddy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 287
Trindaddy Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Thumbs up

My Modis has done the VIN easily on older Chryslers with "new" reman PCMs. I think the larger issue for you is the security stuff. Be sure to follow the link you were given above. Wish i could say i've had my chance to confirm the "unplug the SKIM" procedure, but i haven't yet. I do trust the folks who have chimed in on that old post. Let us know how it goes, take your time and read up. So far, my Actia has worked flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2011, 04:02 PM
USpMD's Avatar
USpMD USpMD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 171
USpMD Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trindaddy View Post
My Modis has done the VIN easily on older Chryslers with "new" reman PCMs. I think the larger issue for you is the security stuff. Be sure to follow the link you were given above. Wish i could say i've had my chance to confirm the "unplug the SKIM" procedure, but i haven't yet. I do trust the folks who have chimed in on that old post. Let us know how it goes, take your time and read up. So far, my Actia has worked flawlessly.
I like you Trindaddy was a skeptic , I have now used it many times("unplug the SKIM"), works great, now if I could just find a way to correct pinion factor without a DRB 3
__________________
"I wanna help the helpless, but I could careless about the clueless". Dennis Miller
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2011, 04:05 PM
jbakers1 jbakers1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 9
jbakers1 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I ahve been reading on this j 2534 and have been seeing alot about the drew tech toolbox. Could i download it and make it work with my actia. the actia is the same as the pass tru pro. just thinking that i should have purchaced the drew tech system. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2011, 04:38 PM
Trindaddy's Avatar
Trindaddy Trindaddy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 287
Trindaddy Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbakers1 View Post
I ahve been reading on this j 2534 and have been seeing alot about the drew tech toolbox. Could i download it and make it work with my actia. the actia is the same as the pass tru pro. just thinking that i should have purchaced the drew tech system. Any thoughts?
I have already inquired regarding this with DT, the answer is no. Perhaps the biggest drawback is with the skim feature that they offer (you cant use). Otherwise, the rest of the info in the toolbox is already at your disposal. For example:
http://www.nastf.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3292
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-01-2011, 05:06 PM
jbakers1 jbakers1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 9
jbakers1 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I have down loaded the toolbox from Drew Tech and i Like the layout and seems that it will let you write vins and erase vin with toolbox.My actia does not have a toolbox . I think im gonna buy drews carDaq plus monday.anybody intrested in my actia?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2011, 06:23 AM
Trindaddy's Avatar
Trindaddy Trindaddy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 287
Trindaddy Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbakers1 View Post
I have down loaded the toolbox from Drew Tech and i Like the layout and seems that it will let you write vins and erase vin with toolbox.My actia does not have a toolbox . I think im gonna buy drews carDaq plus monday.anybody intrested in my actia?
I'm not sure about this but i believe the cardaq is not compatible with every manufacturer. You should check car man. site for compatability. I remember something about Hyndai.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.