Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Scanner Capabilities
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Snap-on Diagnostics Ethos Plus
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2012, 05:12 PM
mcgta mcgta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 2
mcgta Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default help hooking up mt-2500 to 94 toyota

hey everyone!

you don't know how happy i am that there's a forum like this. especially after i got a mt-2500 and stuff off of ebay.

ok here's the situation: i bought this scanner to help diagnose my 1994 toyota celica gt. The problem is the scanner says it cannot communicate with the car. also it makes the car's idle surge badly. i cannot get any data read outs or do any functional tests. is the car too old?

The scanner is version 2.2. I have a grey primary asian import cart for 1983-1995 #mt2500-1495. I also have a red troubleshooter cart which is thru 1999 #mt2500-2499. I'm connecting using the toyota-1 connector and black mt2500-5000.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 12:39 AM
andybaz andybaz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: uk
Posts: 342
andybaz Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Hi, uk?, i think the toyota adapter has a 5mm jack plug to take a power lead, so you should also be connecting to the battery .
__________________
Why do we have to pay for SNAP ON errors??
Toyota pro tech & ata
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 09:03 AM
mcgta mcgta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 2
mcgta Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andybaz View Post
Hi, uk?, i think the toyota adapter has a 5mm jack plug to take a power lead, so you should also be connecting to the battery .
hello! no, i'm in the states. my celica has the diagnostic box near the driver's side fender. the toyota-1 connector fits it. then i hook up the battery leads to the connector and clamp on to battery. hmm perhaps i'll get a picture up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2012, 06:55 PM
sandt38 sandt38 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 185
sandt38 Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I have actually had that happen randomly when hooking various scan tools to cars. All kinds of weird stuff I cannot explain.

I had a Kia in with an airbag light on the other day. Fixed the issue, cleared the codes with my Solus, the light was still on. No codes. I messed with it and messed with it. Finally I removed the scan tool and the light blinked and went out. Hooked my Verus, no codes, no light. Hook the Solus, bam! Light comes back on. Had an 02 Impala in last week a coworker was using my Solus and it kept dying. Unhooked the Solus, the car ran like a champ. The Solus is current, updated 2 weeks ago. No explanation. Verus worked fine, MT VCI worked fine, even an el-cheapo code reader we use to check for OBDII readiness worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2012, 12:48 AM
redbaron redbaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: S.F. Ca.
Posts: 45
redbaron Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Even factory scan tools will cause mystery codes and issues- BMW GT1 with an early 90's automatic car will cause a trans warning light.

Just goes to show, programmers cant think of everything!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.