Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > Modis User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Vintage Automobile Repair Manuals from Mitchell 1
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:32 PM
harley1rocker's Avatar
harley1rocker harley1rocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: thorsby alabama
Posts: 27
harley1rocker Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Need Update Info!!!!

Hey guys. I just recently obtained a modis for cheap. All cables euro coverage and all that. Anyhow is there anywere i could buy a update 4 this thing? Its currently 6.2.... my local snap on guy is telling me that its gotta be sent off and it will cost like 2500$$$!!! He says the 12.2 update is just to much info for the modis so they gotta change the motherboard or somthin. Is he correct? 12.2 wont fit? I know i can buy it off snap on.com... If i do that will it work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:45 PM
Jay G.'s Avatar
Jay G. Jay G. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 343
Jay G. Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harley1rocker View Post
Hey guys. I just recently obtained a modis for cheap. All cables euro coverage and all that. Anyhow is there anywere i could buy a update 4 this thing? Its currently 6.2.... my local snap on guy is telling me that its gotta be sent off and it will cost like 2500$$$!!! He says the 12.2 update is just to much info for the Modis so they gotta change the motherboard or somthin. Is he correct? 12.2 wont fit? I know i can buy it off snap on.com... If i do that will it work?
The first thing you need to do is check the scanner plugin by pulling it out of the top left of the Modis. If the body of the scanner plugin is metal you will need to update it to the latest version, if it is plastic then you are OK and it can be updated.

The second thing you will need it a 512 mb CF card in order fit the 12.2 or the 12.4 build.

Hope this helps

Jay
__________________
Ineptocracy (in-ep-tocí-ra-cy) - a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2013, 06:49 PM
harley1rocker's Avatar
harley1rocker harley1rocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: thorsby alabama
Posts: 27
harley1rocker Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay G. View Post
The first thing you need to do is check the scanner plugin by pulling it out of the top left of the Modis. If the body of the scanner plugin is metal you will need to update it to the latest version, if it is plastic then you are OK and it can be updated.

The second thing you will need it a 512 mb CF card in order fit the 12.2 or the 12.4 build.

Hope this helps

Jay
God yes it helps man. This is good to know. And what do u mean plug in? You talkin bout were u plug the 12v source in?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:05 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,270
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

The scanner module is the plastic cartridge that the scanner cable connects to. If you are at Version 6.2 then you would really have to have a plastic scan module. You couldn't update past Version 4.4 or so without it. So look at the top of your Modis, where the scanner cable goes. Is that part plastic or metal? If it is plastic, then just ask your Dealer to order a CF update for it, instead of using Scanbay to update your current card, and you should be good.

You'll need to order several keys that have been added too.

Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:35 PM
harley1rocker's Avatar
harley1rocker harley1rocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: thorsby alabama
Posts: 27
harley1rocker Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Rappa View Post
The scanner module is the plastic cartridge that the scanner cable connects to. If you are at Version 6.2 then you would really have to have a plastic scan module. You couldn't update past Version 4.4 or so without it. So look at the top of your Modis, where the scanner cable goes. Is that part plastic or metal? If it is plastic, then just ask your Dealer to order a CF update for it, instead of using Scanbay to update your current card, and you should be good.

You'll need to order several keys that have been added too.

Joe
Yea its plastic. The connector is metal. The housing that surrounds it is plastic tho. And my snap on dealer is tryn to get me 2 buy another scanner. Hes sayn i cant update. Hes sayn that NO modis can be updated now. Hes young. New to the game. He absolutly refuses to sale me an update. Wats up with that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:37 PM
harley1rocker's Avatar
harley1rocker harley1rocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: thorsby alabama
Posts: 27
harley1rocker Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Is there anybody i might be able to buy 1 from? I figured i could. Being a snap on forum and all. Is there any snap on dealers in the house???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:39 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,270
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

He is mistaken about not being able to update it. You can get one here if you want to:
http://www1.snapon.com/diagnostics/u...e/MODIS124.htm

I feel sorry for the new guys. There is SO much for them to learn, and the brain can only absorb so much at a time.
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:54 PM
harley1rocker's Avatar
harley1rocker harley1rocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: thorsby alabama
Posts: 27
harley1rocker Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Rappa View Post
He is mistaken about not being able to update it. You can get one here if you want to:
http://www1.snapon.com/diagnostics/u...e/MODIS124.htm

I feel sorry for the new guys. There is SO much for them to learn, and the brain can only absorb so much at a time.
I hate askin so many questions. Can i ask u 1 more? Can i pull the cf card with the scanner off of course. And ol boy said it had to be at least 512mb. That rigjt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:57 PM
harley1rocker's Avatar
harley1rocker harley1rocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: thorsby alabama
Posts: 27
harley1rocker Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Rappa View Post
He is mistaken about not being able to update it. You can get one here if you want to:
http://www1.snapon.com/diagnostics/u...e/MODIS124.htm

I feel sorry for the new guys. There is SO much for them to learn, and the brain can only absorb so much at a time.
How does this work? JUST send snap on the money and they email the update? Or do they send a whole kit? Cf card and all?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:07 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,270
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harley1rocker View Post
I hate askin so many questions. Can i ask u 1 more? Can i pull the cf card with the scanner off of course. And ol boy said it had to be at least 512mb. That rigjt
You may already know this, so forgive me if you do.

The update is on the CF card that is under the left hand grip. you can pull it out as long as the Modis is off. Remember that the CF card on a modis is actually the hard drive, so it needs to be in there for the Modis to work. You can check the size of the card on your PC, but don't attempt to mess with any of the files on there!

If you buy an update from Snap-on directly, you purchase it with a Credit Card, and the new CF update shows up by UPS. Follow the directions for installing it, and you're all set. There is nothing in the box but a new CF card and directions. Put your old card in the top CF slot and save files to it (if you save files)
You can also give that part number to your dealer and tell him to get it for you.

Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.