Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2021, 02:08 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,587
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default GM Radio won't unlock

Have a 2012 Tahoe here with a navigation radio that needs replacing. I obtained a used radio with matching part numbers and RPO code. I programmed the radio with GM AC delco TDS to get the proper setup. All the calibration numbers changed to match the vehicle but when programming was complete the radio remained locked. I'm not new at this and have done many dozens of GM radio replacements in the past. This the first one that would not unlock. I have no other codes in the vehicle and all communication systems seem to be working. I even tried a couple of internet solutions including open the door after programming and using Tech 2 enter the vehicle as an 06 Monte Carlo and try VIN erase ( B.S. That function is not available for that vehicle in tech 2). Any Ideas ? The programming process runs as it should, no warnings or other messages.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2021, 03:52 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,587
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

I just checked the VIN that is stored in the radio with the tech 2 (SnapOn software does not list VIN data for this module in this vehicle) and it does not match the VIN for the vehicle. The VIN stored in the BCM is correct for the vehicle. So the reprogramming is not rewriting the VIN into the radio, first time that I can recall running into this problem .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2021, 04:08 AM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 303
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

You'll have to flash it with SPS.Any GM truck radio has been that way since 99 new style.

Last edited by Glide; 03-25-2021 at 04:11 AM.. Reason: didn't read first post correctly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2021, 04:23 AM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,587
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

That is what I have been doing. The calibration numbers change but the VIN is not re-writing during the flash for some reason. I noticed some substitution errors in the Theft Deterrent Module when checking last night, so I will try to correct those first. Did you know that Tech 2 Win will give you 30 instead of 3 just like GDS ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2021, 04:35 AM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 303
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greasybob View Post
Did you know that Tech 2 Win will give you 30 instead of 3 just like GDS ?
No I didn't.I have only used Tech2Win a couple of times as I have a Tech2.What interface are you using to flash? Do you have access to a MDI?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2021, 04:51 AM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,587
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

I'm Using Pass Thru Pro 3. This is the 2nd radio that I've tried with this vehicle with the same result, so probably not the radio. No MDI available. I"ve done this many times in the past without problems maybe GM changes something recently, they're not to big on supporting used modules.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2021, 05:48 AM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 303
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greasybob View Post
GM changes something recently, they're not to big on supporting used modules.
That is always possible.I've replaced newer radios with used,but not Nav.What was the issue with the original radio?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2021, 06:19 AM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,587
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

It would light up but no functions, blank screen, no sound, no communication.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2021, 06:25 AM
Glide Glide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 303
Glide Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Did you check as per PIT4474E ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2021, 09:42 PM
Speedybon's Avatar
Speedybon Speedybon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Speedybon Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

It needs to go to the dealer. Programing Radios are very tricky. Programming any late Gm product is hard. And time consuming.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
2023 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.