Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Member General Discussion Forum > General Discussions > What Do You Want In Your Snap-on Diagnostic Tools
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 04-15-2011, 06:22 PM
TurboJim TurboJim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 219
TurboJim Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnapOnKid View Post
No, your not. I believe Chrysler cars use this on the latest scan tool platform. I Don't work for Snap On nor do I know how easy or difficult it would be with there software.

Right now I personally would be happy just to have the full vin data so it could be saved with log files.

Auto I.D. would be a great feature to have!!! This would definitely speed the process up.
BTW, Chrysler has done this since I believe 1996.

As stupid as it may sound. Chrysler has been cutting edge since OBD1, back in the early 80's. Who else had actuator tests back then, in a friggin Reliant K? I know Caddy had them but that wasnt a typical GM, and they werent easy to use. Chryslers were cake. Almost intuitive.

I know this is an old part of the thread, but Just FWIW...
__________________
Jim Testa
Senior Technician
JD Automotive & Truck Inc
Dover, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 04-15-2011, 06:38 PM
TurboJim TurboJim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 219
TurboJim Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnapOnKid View Post

3. On Verus Plateforum when you pull a code, it gives you the option for more Help. That link takes you directly to Shop Key 5. Not all of us have a subscription. A direct link to trouble shooter would be more helpfull for those of us not using mitchel

How about changeing that option to also Alow you to look in trouble shooter software. HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION
I dont think they can do that SnappyKid. The links to Shopkey's site are anchors within the software, and I doubt the troubleshooter SW is authored like Shopkey. ie: Now P0301 points to that exact code on Mitchell's site.. Say Mitchell.com/codes/p0301 for example. To point that to troubleshooter would require restructuring troubleshooter to have "chapters" or "spots" that could be called out on via a hyperlink. I think that would require a complete rewrite of the troubleshooter part of the software. I could be wrong. Would be a nice feature though.

BTW, I havent looked deep enough maybe....can I switch ShopKey5 to OnDemand5? Its the same company, but my shops user/pw doesnt work on Shopkey...... If you cant, add that to my list :-)
__________________
Jim Testa
Senior Technician
JD Automotive & Truck Inc
Dover, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 04-15-2011, 08:10 PM
SnapOnKid's Avatar
SnapOnKid SnapOnKid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 863
SnapOnKid You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboJim View Post
Oh yea. An easy one. The vehicle report page? Make it so you can edit/input your shop info. That way if you use it as a customer selling tool, they know where they got it from!

Oh, And condense the page to fit on one sheet of paper (unless the vehicle has a bunch of codes of course). Maybe make it so the user can select what fields to include. Shop name/address, customer name address, vehicle info (let us put VIN if we want to BTW), and optional equipment if we choose (AT, MT, posi, DOHC, turbo...whatever helps us identify our work) even if theyre tic boxes that will print the appropriate value on the page. Maybe make it so we can set margins in case we want to print on our own letterhead?

What we dont need is 3 of the same reports based on scanner, component test and information, since they're the same vehicle at one time right? Kinda silly.
I personally have not gotten that far yet so thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 04-15-2011, 08:26 PM
SnapOnKid's Avatar
SnapOnKid SnapOnKid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 863
SnapOnKid You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboJim View Post
I dont think they can do that SnappyKid. The links to Shopkey's site are anchors within the software, and I doubt the troubleshooter SW is authored like Shopkey. ie: Now P0301 points to that exact code on Mitchell's site.. Say Mitchell.com/codes/p0301 for example. To point that to troubleshooter would require restructuring troubleshooter to have "chapters" or "spots" that could be called out on via a hyperlink. I think that would require a complete rewrite of the troubleshooter part of the software. I could be wrong. Would be a nice feature though.

BTW, I havent looked deep enough maybe....can I switch ShopKey5 to OnDemand5? Its the same company, but my shops user/pw doesnt work on Shopkey...... If you cant, add that to my list :-)
Don't worry SO is listening to what we as the end user want. It won't happen over night but it is being looked into. The more feed back we provide the better they can make this tool.
I have no affiliation with snap on but with the money I have spent, especially this year alone on diagnostic equipment, they should at least consider what us as the end user wants. Especially if they want us to keep supporting them by purchasing future software and new tools as they become available.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 04-15-2011, 08:40 PM
Orevin's Avatar
Orevin Orevin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,110
Orevin Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboJim View Post
Oh yea. An easy one. The vehicle report page? Make it so you can edit/input your shop info. That way if you use it as a customer selling tool, they know where they got it from!

Click on the Vehicle History button and there on the menu button on the bottom:

20110415-2225-1.jpg


Click on Shop Information:

20110415-2225-2.jpg


Enter your information:

20110415-2226-1.jpg


Click on OK and the shop information will now be printed on the reports.


Quote:
Oh, And condense the page to fit on one sheet of paper (unless the vehicle has a bunch of codes of course). Maybe make it so the user can select what fields to include. Shop name/address, customer name address, vehicle info (let us put VIN if we want to BTW), and optional equipment if we choose (AT, MT, posi, DOHC, turbo...whatever helps us identify our work) even if theyre tic boxes that will print the appropriate value on the page. Maybe make it so we can set margins in case we want to print on our own letterhead?

What we dont need is 3 of the same reports based on scanner, component test and information, since they're the same vehicle at one time right? Kinda silly.
Yup.
__________________
-Kai-
Chicago, IL
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 04-16-2011, 02:36 AM
TurboJim TurboJim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 219
TurboJim Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orevin View Post
[SIZE=3]
Click on the Vehicle History button and there on the menu button on the bottom:
AHAAAAAA....

And I found that button by accident looking for how to save movies! I didnt know it changed depending on what mode you were in. Thank you VERY much!

OKAY...Take that one off my list!
__________________
Jim Testa
Senior Technician
JD Automotive & Truck Inc
Dover, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 04-16-2011, 08:43 AM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: P.E.I.
Posts: 74
Snafu Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboJim View Post
I dont think they can do that SnappyKid. The links to Shopkey's site are anchors within the software, and I doubt the troubleshooter SW is authored like Shopkey. ie: Now P0301 points to that exact code on Mitchell's site.. Say Mitchell.com/codes/p0301 for example. To point that to troubleshooter would require restructuring troubleshooter to have "chapters" or "spots" that could be called out on via a hyperlink. I think that would require a complete rewrite of the troubleshooter part of the software. I could be wrong. Would be a nice feature though.

BTW, I havent looked deep enough maybe....can I switch ShopKey5 to OnDemand5? Its the same company, but my shops user/pw doesnt work on Shopkey...... If you cant, add that to my list :-)
Yes Ondemand5 can be selected,
go to the information screen and select menu on the bottom of the page and it will allow you to select between shop key and ondemand.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 04-16-2011, 11:11 AM
TurboJim TurboJim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 219
TurboJim Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Guess I need to explore more. Thanks for the info!
__________________
Jim Testa
Senior Technician
JD Automotive & Truck Inc
Dover, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 05-04-2011, 10:14 AM
SnapOnKid's Avatar
SnapOnKid SnapOnKid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 863
SnapOnKid You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

Something else I noticed Recently. When you ID a car and save it as a work order It does not know Show the Engine ID on the work order. If I need to go back and look at that work order on the scan tool I need to know the Engine Size Along with the VIN... Some times a Part or a repair is specific to the Engine platforum... officially adding it to the list!!!
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 05-04-2011, 10:19 AM
SnapOnKid's Avatar
SnapOnKid SnapOnKid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 863
SnapOnKid You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

1. Honda / Acura VTM-4 Support I would like to see this one added by the 11.4 Update... This is very important on the AWD Platforms. If you can't clear the fault code in the VTM-4 system, The VTM-4 Feature will Not function... If you don't have another scanner that can see this system and clear the fault codes, you could end up with come backs that you can't fix or losing a customer over this problem. HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION

2. Honda / Acura Evap Testing. Bi-directional support like the Factory scan tool to open and close the solenoids to test the system.
MEDUIM PRIORITY FUNCTION

I am not sure what other manufactures don't currently have Evap Testing So if we Need to add a car line please post it up.

Doing this manually is time consuming when needing to smoke the system and some times requires removing a few parts to gain additonal access.

3. On Verus Plateforum when you pull a code, it gives you the option for more Help. That link takes you directly to Shop Key 5. Not all of us have a subscription. A direct link to trouble shooter would be more helpfull for those of us not using mitchel

How about changeing that option to also Alow you to look in trouble shooter software. HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION

Currently you have to navigate around this to get to the trouble shooter software. This is Also time consuming. As a New User, I was un-aware of this and had to get help to figure out how to find the trouble shooter after pulling a code.

4. Back button does not always work on Verus plateforum. I understand a fix is on the way as we have discussed this in the verus forum.

5. I know Volvo coverage is on the way Starting with the basics first But would like to see all module coverage for these in the future. MEDIUM PRIORITY

6. More Porsche coverage. I know not every one works on these but some of us do from time to time. Like my self. I had the seat out trying to diagnose a bad module under the seat. This set the SRS light on and I had to get some one local to Reset this for me. LOW PRIORITY FUNCTION

7. GM Tire size calibration. The Tech 2 can change tire size calibrartion from the tool which affects the way the brakeing system works and were the shift points occure. This feature is very valuable when I do brake jobs. Since people change tire size deppending on whats on sale and what not I would be nice to adjust this Like the factory tool. HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION

I know its avalible in the GM Tech 2 software on trucks like 99- up body style because I own an 00 and 05 Silverado my self and have used this feature. Not sure on cars though.

8. All module scanning on CAN bus systems Like on Ford Vehicals with CAN as Eddieverus mentioned. Nice to know what modules are present and active when you start your diagnostics. HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION

9. Full vin feature Needed for record keeping. This is a must option HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION

10. Fuel pump activation test This is helpfull to determine pump problems and diagnose fuel injection issues. Some of the Gm coverage seems to be missing. Would be helpfull on all product lines...
HIGH PRIORITY FUNCTION

11. The scroll feature is Narrow and hard to grab and scroll through data. I know we have discussed changing the interface around on the Atlas/Verus platforum so please keep this one in mind while makeing adjustments... HIGH PRIORITY FEATURE

12. Desiel DPF Regeneration Reset feature. The OEM tools for FORD And GM allow you to reset this feature. This is a much needed feature for those that see desiels. Desiel are becomeing more popular with all car lines. HIGH PRIORITY FEATURE

13.The Abilty to save functional test results and the related data to that test. HIGH PRIORITY FEATURE

14.The ability to Auto ID a vehical with the option to enter it manualy Other scan tool OEM and aftermarket currently do this.

15.The Ability to move the graphs around when veiwing live data in graph forum. Apparently this was availible in 10.2 but changed with the 10.4 update We Need this feature back in the New User interface.HIGH PRIORITY FEATURE

16. Technician Work order needs to save the engine I.D. This is important information for parts and specific repairs HIGH PRIORITY FEATURE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
2023 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.