Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > J2534 (Flash Reprogramming) User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2015, 06:42 PM
chiefgeek chiefgeek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
chiefgeek Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Adding RPO to GM via SPS reprogram of module

I am trying to add a RPO (UK3 - DIC) to 2003 silverado.

I have a VIN of a similar vehicle with the RPO and I am wondering if it is possible to reprogram the IPC and TBC with the calibration from vehicle that has the RPO into the target vehicle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2015, 06:48 PM
badcoupe badcoupe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connertucky IN
Posts: 217
badcoupe Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

you may be able to program it that way using a different vin or the correct way is to request a VCI so that the options are altered to the vin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2015, 06:53 PM
chiefgeek chiefgeek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
chiefgeek Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badcoupe View Post
you may be able to program it that way using a different vin or the correct way is to request a VCI so that the options are altered to the vin
I was afraid of that. I don't have a valid subscription and don't want to brick the modules.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2015, 07:08 AM
maven's Avatar
maven maven is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 269
maven Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

I dont beleive theres an option to change the IPC programming, even when you put in a new/reman one from GM.

Are you trying to get the audio controls to work or the extra DIC information to display?

Have you installed all the switches and wiring for the steering wheel controls?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2015, 08:35 AM
chiefgeek chiefgeek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
chiefgeek Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
I dont beleive theres an option to change the IPC programming, even when you put in a new/reman one from GM.

Are you trying to get the audio controls to work or the extra DIC information to display?

Have you installed all the switches and wiring for the steering wheel controls?
I am trying to get everything to work. I have installed the clockspring and steering wheel with controls. The truck has an after market radio so I installed a Pac SWI-JACK and programmed for radio, so steering wheel radio controls are working.

My next step was to reprogram IPC to get the multiple trip odometers to show up and if that was a success then I would move to the TBC to enable the DIC steering wheel controls.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2015, 04:08 PM
chiefgeek chiefgeek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
chiefgeek Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I took the plunge and tried programming IPC and TBC from a different VIN vehicle that has the UK3 RPO and all is working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2015, 05:25 PM
Joe Rappa's Avatar
Joe Rappa Joe Rappa is offline
Snap-on DSD
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,020
Joe Rappa Made it to level 2!  Looks like you are on your way to becoming famous

Default

That's pretty cool. Thanks for posting the results.
Joe
__________________
"You don't build a reputation on what you're going to do"
Henry Ford
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2015, 08:02 AM
ToltecasChavez ToltecasChavez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY, Bronx
Posts: 408
ToltecasChavez Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

@chiefgeek Thanks for the results. Amazing that it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2015, 06:19 PM
RidgeShawn91 RidgeShawn91 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: dunn nc
Posts: 1
RidgeShawn91 Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default process in with made it work with other vin#

Added the steering wheel and harness to my 2006 silverado from a vehicle in which i still have access to and have the vin# to, trying to figure a way of getting it active without haveing to pay the dealership to program being a friend of mine has a tech2 to do this. havent been able to get VCI# from dealer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2016, 10:21 PM
SpartanAutoworx SpartanAutoworx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: St.Charles
Posts: 6
SpartanAutoworx Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default

I do this type of flashing off car all the time.

You can use a vin of a Truck / SUV that has the Touch controls. You may get a service brake booster issue if you use a vin from a hydroboost truck and you dont have it.


The correct way is to call acdelco and request a cust vci but I have never done that. lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
2022 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.